The Sunday Salon: All A-Twitter

Rarely have I read so many good books in a row as I’ve read this summer.

The Sandcastle Girls.

The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D.

Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake.

Today, I’m adding The Chaperone to that list.

I loved this story of a Wichita matron in the 1920’s who spends a summer in New York chaperoning a young Louise Brooks (who became a star of silent movies). But the book is really Cora Carlisle’s, a woman with an unfolding story far more complex than I ever imagined when we first meet her in her corsets and high necked dress. And Laura Moriarty unfolds that story in such a masterful way, pulling the reader in and making you long for more on every page.

I finished it this morning, and haven’t yet chosen my next selection. I was excited to receive a copy of The Baker’s Daughter in the mail on Monday. I’ve been wanting to read this, and may choose it next. You have to be careful after reading a book you really love, don’t you? It’s so easy for things to fall flat.

In other bookish news, the airwaves were all a-twitter with some wonderful news for two of my favorite authors. Beth Kephart’s newest book, Small Damages, received a shining review in The New York Times this week, and was listed (along with Chris Bohjalian’s The Sandcastle Girls) as one of Publisher’s Weekly best books of the week.

I was vicariously thrilled for both of them, and it was also great fun to see Twitter and Facebook streams suddenly light up with people passing these accolades around. Sort of the cyber equivalent of tossing confetti and toasting with champagne.

So, here’s you you, Beth and Chris. Thank you for sharing your wonderful words with all the rest of us.

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: All A-Twitter

  1. You know. You know. You know. I was coming on here to see your review of Chaperone, but you are going to think I googled my own name to find these kind, kind words and seriously, I don’t want you to think that, but now I must thank you.

    Because you are such a dear.

    The end.

    • I know you are not in the habit of googling your name, and if you were these days you’d never get anything done because you are so popular :) which make me extremely happy.

  2. This is sitting on my shelf rather low down in the TBR pile, but I’m reading so many good things about it that it may have to start to climb the slopes.

  3. I really enjoyed The Chaperone. Such an engaging story. It was a fast read for me. It took a turn I didn’t expect but I’ll admit, once it did (the last part of the book when she goes back to Kansas) I lost some interest.

    • I actually liked that last part where we fast forward through the future. But I’m always an epilogue sort of girl – I like to know how things end up :)

Leave a Reply

