Booking Through Thursday-The Honeymoon’s Over

btt2.jpg     this week’s thought to ponder at booking through thursday

Have you ever fallen out of love with a favorite author? Was the last book you read by the author so bad, you broke up with them and haven’t read their work since? Could they ever lure you back?

alas, i have become disenchanted with two of my favorite authors, and while i won’t say i’ve “fallen out of love with them,” i’m disappointed with them, much as i might be in a friend who has betrayed me.  no longer do i rush to the bookstore shelf when i see their name in the new arrivals section.  no longer do i eagerly grab up their latest offering in joyful expectation. 

no, i’m afraid it’s more a wary investigation than a welcome embrace these days.  for in their last books, one of them allowed a tragedy to befall a favorite character, thereby altering the course of all stories to come.  and another explored an avenue so far removed from his previous themes as to be almost ridiculous. 

sigh.

i’m loathe to name names, for i still cherish all the happy moments i’ve spent in their company.  perhaps they can yet redeem themselves in future, for i’m not one to renounce old loves entirely.   i will just be more cautious about giving my heart too freely. 

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday-The Honeymoon’s Over

  1. Pingback: The Honeymoon’s Over « Becca’s Byline

  2. I think you should name and shame!

    I hate it when a favourite author disappoints, it is such a let down and your right it is like a friends betrayed you!

  3. It is so hard to give up on someone entirely, isn’t it? Especially someone you really believe has some talent. You just have to go on hoping. Let’s all hope your faith will be rewarded.

  4. I can feel your heart and disappointment, but I also think you should keep the names confidential. You might regret it later if you published their names to the world. Who knows? Some secrets we just have to keep! 🙂

    Thanks so much for your recent comment on my blog, Writing the Cyber Highway, and for your much appreciated vote!

    I love your header, too. I can envision myself looking out the window on that scene as I write… It’s so serene!

    Smiles,
    Michele

  5. I know what you mean…it makes me almost sad when a used-to-be favorite author has a new book and I have no desire to pick it up…

    And, of course, your restraint is admirable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

