Reading Outside the Box

the ravenous reader has been tagged…Gautami asks me to consider some questions about my non-fiction reading preferences… 

(a)What issues/topic interests you most–non-fiction, i.e, cooking, knitting, stitching, thereare infinite topics that has nothing to do with novels?
b). Would you like to review books concerning those?

c). Would you like to be paid or do it as interest or hobby? Tell reasons for what ever you choose.
d). Would you recommend those to your friends and how?
 

i do read non-fiction quite often…my favorite genres are biography, essays, and books on the craft of writing.  actually, i often have one from every category going on simultaneously.  i’ve just finished a biography (Jane Austen, A Life, by Claire Tomalin),  i’m re-reading The Merry Recluse, a fabulous collection of essays by Caroline Knapp, and i’m working my way through Writing Begins With the Breath, by Laraine Herring.   and yes, i’d be most interested in reviewing these kinds of books – for love or money!  as far as recommending my non-fiction reading to friends…hmm~i think i just did that, didn’t i?

now tell me….what are you reading from the non-fiction bookstack?

6 thoughts on “Reading Outside the Box

  1. I love exactly the kind of non-fiction books you describe. At the moment, though, because of my mothers project, I’m reading slightly different kinds of memoirs. I read Searching for Mercy Street by Linda Grey Sexton, which was amazing (and I know you’ve read that one) and I’ve got next on the list Not Without My Daughter by Betty Mahmoody and Anne Fadiman’s The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down. I’m also about to start Alice Munroe’s The View from Castle Rock for the short story blogging group. I’m looking forward to them all!

  2. I love letters and journals with the occasional essay thrown in for good measure. I think I must be really nosy wanting to know all about another person’s life from the horse’s mouth as it were. I’m not big on biographies, always worried about how much is just the writer’s interpretation of what happened. Helene Hanff once wrote that what she really liked in a book was the knowledge that the writer could claim ‘I know because I was there.’

  3. I really need to get into essays more! My absolute favourite essayist, hands down, is George Orwell. Every one of his essays just leaves me super-impressed. I look forward to reading your reviews on essay collections, to expand the TBR!

  4. Those are my kind of non-fiction reads too! Sadly, I don’t read very many. I tend to stick with fiction a lot more. Oh and I do like memoirs – I went through a time when I got a bit tired of those but I seem to be going back to them.

  5. SInce I got interested in memoir writing myself I have read the genre. I also loved Caroline Knapp’s Drinking: A Love Story, Name All the Animals by Alison Smith, The Glass Caster by Jeannette Walls, and Liar’s Club by Mary Karr. These are just a few!

Leave a Reply

