Booking Through Thursday – The Whole Package

This weeks Booking Through Thursday asks… 

While acknowleding that we can’t judge books by their covers, how much does the design of a book affect your reading enjoyment? Hardcover v. softcover?  Trade paperback v. mass market paperback? Font? Illustrations? Etc…

the ravenous reader has a deep appreciation for the tactile qualities of her books, and she loves the slick, expensive paper only the finest authors get for their beautifully bound hardcover books, she relishes the satiny feeling of the new bookjackets, and the slighly raised, braille like touch of the letters spelling out the titles.

and she adores the old books she sometimes borrows from her library, those that have been so well read and loved that the pages are soft and powdery, sometimes spotted with ancient stains of coffee or chocolate, and as her eyes peruse the pages, she feels the connection with all those readers whose fingertips have touched the pages before her.

but most of all, the ravenous reader loves the aroma of books, and has been known to surreptitiously bend her face into the heart of a book,  drawing in a deep breath, letting the delicious, dizzying blend of ink and paper sweep into all her senses, for like fine wine, each volume has its own signature scent.

there is so much to love about books, isn’t there?

9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – The Whole Package

  1. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog. The book with the little shoes is called Forever Lily by Beth Nonte Russell. It’s a memoir about a Chinese adoption and I gave it an 8/10 rating. 🙂 So, yes, it was pretty good.
    Here is the url to my little review of it, if you’re interested:
    http://insatiablereader.blogspot.com/2008/01/forever-lily-by-beth-nonte-russell.html
    Love the idea of smelling your books. I do it too. And the connection to previous readers in the stains of library books…so true! I adore it when a fellow chocolate lover has read a book before me. 😉

  2. Lovely post! Of course I love the smell of books too – that was part of my pleasure when I worked in a library – the smell in the bookstacks! and those old books with such soft paper – a pleasure to hold.

  3. I loved embossed lettering as well. But I don’t smell my old books. Only my vintage clothes. 🙂

    And I’m embarassed to admit…I don’t like old books. I like new ones. Please don’t hold it against me!

  4. I’m so glad to find that I’m not the only one who loves the smell of books — new and old. Upon observing this odd behavior, my long-suffering husband just sighed and shook his head. He loves me despite my very severe case of bibliomania.

  5. This reader loves the smell of glorious old books and the different “new car” smell of the newer version. And I can’t resist a beautifully designed cover — which can mean a lot of things — a splendid graphic, great type font, perfect colors that touch me, or an intriguing illustration the makes me at the very least check out the description. I have bought more than one book by its cover, despite warnings from the bruised and battered! But there is still something quite lovely to seeing that cover face up on my table, a lovely bookmark hanging from its edge!

Leave a Reply

