Booking Through Thursday-Reading Down the Years

Booking Through Thursday asks~

Have your book-tastes changed over the years? More fiction? Less? Books that are darker and more serious? Lighter and more frivolous? Challenging? Easy? How-to books over novels? Mysteries over Romance?

The Ravenous Reader has been reading for many, many years~nearly 50 to be exact.  As I reflect on all the thousands of books I’ve so happily devoured,  I realize my tastes have not fundamentally changed.   I crave fiction with complex characters and great big story lines, people whose lives I can enter in and lose myself.  I love multi-faceted mysteries with a strong psychological dimension, again with well developed characters.  My mouth waters when I pick up a new biography or memoir, particulary if the subject is one of my favorite authors.  Recently, I’ve developed a taste for the short story, and enjoy nibbling away at these savory little gems.

So, I suppose you could say my reading tastes have remained quite steadfast…how about yours?

 

9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday-Reading Down the Years

  1. Mine has changed. I do try new genres, new authors all the time. I only put my feet down for paranormal erotic fiction.

    Now I also read a lot of modern poets. Previously I was only stuck to the Roberts…..Browning, Burns and Frost!

  2. Since you mention the psychological angle and short stories, you might be interested in the collection I’m reading right now. It’s called Down the Sunless Sea by Mathias B. Freeze. I don’t think any of the stories could be more than 10 small pages long. Some of them are really more character studies than stories, but they’re all about people, mainly men, who have some psychological issue. I’ll probably be posting my review tomorrow or Saturday.

  3. I’m a bit more adventurous now — far more willing to try something at I know nothing about. But it could still run the gamut of subjects. In the past couple of years I’ve taken on an Edward Rutherford historical novel — Sarum, London — Ireland is on the way. I love how the characters travel through the generations.

    I’m big on biography and as my interests and tastes expand, so do my selections. So, I suppose that’s changing — sort of!

    I’m a mystery fan, too, and I find that I really appreciate more complex characters and stories. I am also blessed (?) with short-term mystery memory, so I can reread a good one a year or two later, and often forget whodunit! Mysteries are my summer books!

  4. I’ve read my way through many different genres over the years but fundamentally my basic need remains the same – a rattling good plot. I like well drawn characters, but that will never compensate for a poor plot.

  5. I used to be a novel gal. I still enjoy them from time to time, but the short story is perhaps my favorite genre, in a dead heat with both poetry and essay. Do you have favorite short stories? favorite short story authors? Have you read any good collections recently? Sorry for so many questions. (Short-story lovers are harder to find in blogland than novel fans.)

  6. I’m the same as you – my tastes haven’t really changed either. I’ve been lucky enough to broaden my reading and come across far more novels that I like, but essentially a beautiful, thought-provoking, complex novel is my thing.

  7. My taste has not changed that much either, although I have included the short stories and poetry into my reading stacks. I think I read differently as an aspiring writer, taking myself seriously, and enjoy reading about writing, about learning the technique. This means that I am even more impressed by the achievements of a good novel or short story. And what is ‘good’? Anything that makes me think about the human condition, about different lives and countries and cultures, and…. etc. etc.

  8. I see to have come full circle. My first “reading by myself” books were mysteries (I was lucky enough to have a mom who read to me every night before I could read by myself). I went through all kinds of phases after that. There was a time when I read all biographies. After I graduated from college I was reading all 19th Century stuff – Victor Hugo, Charles Dickens, Mary Shelley, Alexandre Dumas, Stendahl. I LOVED Charles Dickens. Science fiction, historical fiction, chick lit, and now, again, mostly mysteries. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction unless it is for a specific project or class.
    In reference to your previous post, I haven’t read March, but I have read Years of Wonder – A Novel of the Plague, and People of the Book. Both wonderful: Brooks is incredible!

  9. Pingback: Two Weekly Geeks: Scavenger Hunt and Challenges « A Striped Armchair

Leave a Reply

