It’s Raining Books

Oh, I’ve been so lucky lately, for books have been raining down upon me! 

Last week I received two books to review, a perfect pairing actually – Dedication, by Emma McLaughlin and Nicoal Kraus, and Rules for Saying Goodbye, by Katherine Taylor, both tales of the lives and loves of women in their twenties and thirties.  I’m not completely sure I’ll be able to relate (I’m a bit far removed from those age ranges, you see) but I hopeful they’ll at least spark some good memories <smiles>

In my mailbox on Satuday was my first “mooched” book – a (virtually brand new) copy of Mrs. Dalloway – oddly enough, I don’t own this one, and I’ve been wanting to read it in combination with The Hours (which is next on my mooch list).

And then today, wonder of wonders, I came home to find a box containing four books from Lauren, editor of BiblioBuffet (my favorite online book journal)  – Housekeeping, by Marianne Robinson; An Outrageous Affair, by Penny Vinceni; Exit Music, by Ian Rankin; and Acedia & Me, by Karen Armstrong.  Lauren is recently returned from a huge booksellers convention in L.A., and was so kind to offer some of the literary spoils of her journey to BiblioBuffet readers (see, another reason you should read this journal!)

My summer reading menu is growing by leaps and bounds, and I couldn’t be more delighted.  So I’m sharing some of my book bounty with you, and giving away a copy of Heavier Than Air, a beautifully crafted collection of short stories by Nona Caspers.  Leave a comment on this post, and a recipient will be chosen on Saturday, June 21, 2008.

And now I’m off to dive into my latest bookstack.

Happy reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s Raining Books

  1. I’d prefer raining books than actual rain (our first day of sunshine today in about two weeks). How exciting to get so many wonderful books all at once! I look forward to your thoughts on Mrs. Dalloway, which I reread this year and which felt like a first-time read.

    And I’ll happily put my name in for the Caspers collection (although I understand if you’d rather not ship to Switzerland)

  2. Lucky you, with your book rain! That’s the kind of rain I like. Like Verbivore, I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Mrs Dalloway. I have The Hours on my TBR-stack, but haven’t read Mrs Dalloway. It’s on my wishlist, though.

    I loved your post on Heavier than Air, that already got me interested in the book. Besides I have had a soft spot for Minnesota ever since I lived in Wisconsin and got to spent lots of time in Minn. as well. So do count me in if you are willing to send the book overseas.

  3. I wouldn’t mind some of that kind of weather 🙂
    Thank you for the reminder to read BiblioBuffet more often. I keep up with Andi’s reviews over there but need to explore more that’s for sure. Enjoy your books!

  4. I’ve had a great week in aquisitions too. I went to a gigantic local book sale and came home with more than 50 great books for less than 60 bucks!

    New books put me in a great mood. 🙂

  5. I did the Dalloway/Hours thing a couple of years ago with my reading pal. I came out of it disliking the Dalloway intensely and really appreciating the conceit of The Hours. In fact, it put much of the hours into a more thoughtful perspective.

    I’ve read books far longer than Mrs. D., but I confess, I’ve read them all far faster!

  6. This post sent me off on a quest for all the books you mentioned, and I am only now getting back to thank you for this list. What a wonderful stack of summer reading!

  7. I hope you enjoy the Penny Vincenzi book…I have read Sheer Abandon, which I loved, and I just got An Absolute Scandal, which I’m excited about reading.

Leave a Reply

