Write On Wednesday

You probably wouldn’t be that surprised to learn the Ravenous Reader also dabbles in writing – more than just here at Bookstack, I mean.

As a matter of fact, Bookstack is my second venture into the blog world.  I started blogging about two years ago at Becca’s Byline, and have been honing my writing skills there ever since, with fiction, poetry, and personal essays about “life in general and my own in particular.”

Because I dabble in writing, I love to read books about the craft of writing…Writing Down the Bones, The Artist’s Way, Bird by Bird, If You Want to Write, On Writing…well, you can see I have quite a Bookstack going in this genre as well.

And thus, Write On Wednesday was born.  Each Wednesday, I started writing a post about the things I’d been reading in my “how to write” books.  Before long, other people started chiming in, sharing their stories of how they came across ideas, where they found time to write, what they found helpful in journaling, how they overcame writer’s block.  It became an informal place for us to sharing about writing, what we know and don’t know, what works for us and might help someone else break out of writing rut.

Or maybe just help someone find the courage to put pencil to paper for the first time.

And now, Write On Wednesday now has a shiny new home of it’s own.

Come visit.  If you like to write, maybe our discussion will inspire you to join in with a post on your own blog.  Or, just add your two cents in the comments section.

So, click here, and get ready to Write On Wednesday.

 

3 thoughts on “Write On Wednesday

  1. I just recently came across your blog, and have been enjoying your posts. 🙂

    I, too, like to dabble in Writing. So, I, too, read a lot of books on writing (the how-to of the craft).

    Have you read Richard Bach’s book, “Writer Ferrets: Chasing the Muse“? It’s an adorable little fable about two ferrets who are aspiring authors. I HIGHLY recommend it, as it has a lot of wisdom for want-to-be writers. And, it’s really cute!

    Also, how about “A Passion for Narrative” by Jack Hodgins, or “Getting Into Character: Seven Secrets a Novelist Can Learn from Actors” by Brandilyn Collins? I haven’t read either of these, but I bought them because they both look like EXCELLENT books! 🙂

    Anyhoo. Just thought I’d write and mention a couple of books. I’ll look forward to reading your notes on the Writing tips you’re learning! 🙂

  2. PS… I’m seriously considering joining the “Write On Wednesday” group! I love the idea of that, and am really inspired by the posts I’ve read (at the new blog) so far! Thanks for that!

  3. That does sound very good. I’ve been trying to write more, but lately its been a little more challenging. I spend time blogging, of course, and then I seem to just run out of time. Guess I need to make myself write more! And I’ll definitely be stopping by your new blog.

Leave a Reply

