Meme Time

Julie tagged me for this interesting meme all about my favorite pastime…

Do you remember how you developed a love of reading?  I first fell in love with the big glossy magazines on sale in our local drugstore – Look and Life, especially.  They were kept on the bottom shelf where I could reach them, and long before I could read the words, I loved the slick glossy paper, the color photographs, and especially the wonderful aroma of fresh print.  

What are some books you loved as a child?  Heidi was my all time favorite childhood book, followed closely by Little Women, the Little House Books, the Bobbsey Twins, Trixie Belden, Betsy-Tacy, everything by Madeleine L’Engle…

What is your favorite genre?  I like contemporary novels.  I also enjoy some mysteries.

Do you have a favorite novel?  This is a cruel question.  I can’t possibly pick one.

Where do you usually read?  Ha! Where don’t I read is more like it.  I have been known to read in the car at stop lights, although it’s not the most relaxing place.  Usually at home in bed, or in my favorite chair by the window.  In summer I like to read on my back porch, especially first thing in the morning.

When do you usually read?  Reading always bookends my day…first thing in the morning, last thing at night.

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?  Not always, but often.  Usually one fiction and one non-fiction.

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?  Not really.

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?  I used to buy a lot more books than I do now.  I use my library a lot, I have friends who loan me books, I’ve been bookmooching, and now that I’m reviewing books, I get a lot that way.

Do you keep most of the books you buy?  Nowadays, if I buy a book it’s something I really, really want, so most likely I’ll want to keep it so I can re-read it.

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them?  My son always loved books and reading, but his tastes quickly grew away from my girly stories and leaned toward science fiction and action/adventure.  Before that happened, we enjoyed Beatrix Potter books, Winnie the Pooh, and lots of children’s poetry (Stevenson, Shel Silverstein).

What are you reading now?  I’m re-reading While I Was Gone, by Sue Miller; and Making A Literary Life, by Carolyn See.

Do you keep a To Be Read list?  I don’t. I should, though, shouldn’t I?  I have a TBR stack waiting for me in the corner of my office…and another on the chair…and another in the bookshelf…

What’s next?  Next may be another re-read…Family Happiness, by Laurie Colwin.  Or it may be a review book I’m expecting to arrive within the next day or two.

What books would you like to reread?  That’s funny, because I re-read a lot.  Whenever I find myself in a reading slump – when nothing I pick up really seems to grab my attention – I’ll re-read something I’ve loved in the past.  I’m re-reading now, and my next book may be a re-read as well.

Who are your favorite authors?  Oh my…Sue Miller, Mary Gordon, Julia Glass, Elizabeth George, Jane Austen, Richard Russo, Chris Bohjalian, Jhumpa Lahiri (and there are just the tip of the contemporary list.)

7 thoughts on “Meme Time

  1. “The wonderful aroma of fresh print” — oh yes!!! Whenever I take my kids to the library we make a point of pausing just inside the door to inhale the fabulous smell of all those books. In fact, I do this even if I’m by myself. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Making of This Reader Meme « The Literate Housewife Review

  3. You commented at my blog: I dog ear pages too, and then forget what it was that I wanted to remember! I haven’t figured out a good method for keeping track of notes for book reviews. I’ve got too many notebooks around as well!

    For keeping track of my notes while I’m reading a review book, I’ve been writing my thoughts (in pencil) in the back cover of the book. You know how there’s a few blank pages there, sometimes? I’ll write on those, and on the actual inside back-cover. That way the pages I’d otherwise write them on don’t get lost. 😉
    I’d do that for the notes in the nonfiction books I read (for pleasure), but there always end up being too many… there’s just not enough room on the back cover for that! LOL

    Thanks for your comments!

    MizB

  4. Pingback: Remmrit Bookmarking

Leave a Reply

