The Sunday Salon

The Sunday Salon.com

This Sunday finds me a bit scattered and at loose ends.  After dropping my husband at the airport very early *yawn* this morning (he’s off on a spur of the moment junket to our home in Florida), and driving home amidst the gloomy drizzle that has become our lot here for the past three days, I don’t seem to have the heart for doing much.  I went so far as to get dressed for church, and then abruptly changed my mind about going, deciding to stay home and read instead.

So- I’m nearly finished with The Wendesday Sisters, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it.  After all, it’s the perfect premise for a book lover/writer type like myself- a group of young mothers who meet in the park on Wednesday mornings and form an impromptu writer’s group, using their devloping writing skills to gain self confidence and self awareness.  Most of the book is set in the late 60’s and early 70’s, so I can identify perfectly with the characters.  Author Meg Waite Clayton demonstrates a superb understanding of this era in American domestic life, and her portrayal of these five women and their relationships seems genuine. 

Speaking of this era,  I’ve become a big fan of the television show Mad Men, an original drama centered around a Madison Avenue advertising agency in the mid 1960’s.  The women in this show are also clearly subjugated to the needs and wants of the men they “serve,” whether as secretary’s, wives, or mistresses.  For one who was a child during this time period, it’s interesting to see life from the adult perspective.  As for The Wednesday Sisters – well, it remains to be seen how far they will come into their own by the end of the novel.

I’ve been reading Silent Girl, a short story collection by Tricia Dower, which is also very feminist in perspective, focusing on the lives of girls and women from several cultures,  many of whom are “without a voice” in their milieu.  The stories (inspired by women from Shakespeare’s plays!) deal with a wide range of social issues – from family dynamics to kidnapping and sexual slavery.  This is a fascinating collection, well written and quite unique, and deserves a proper review once I’ve finished reading it.

Plenty to keep me busy, don’t you think?  As long as I can stay awake to keep reading *bigger yawn*.

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. Maybe you should indulge in a nap and then get back to your books 🙂
    I do like the premise of The Wednesday Sisters so I’ll put that one on my list.

  2. I hope your husband wasn’t hurt when you “dropped” him at the airport. LOL. My OH wants to know if you came to a complete stop or just opened the door and dropped him out.

    I’ll trade your gloomy drizzle for our heat and humidity. I blew off my knitting guild meeting yesterday ’cause it just wasn’t worth the time out in the heat.

    Both reading and knitting tend to make me nod off. Probably shouldn’t do either so late at night or early in the morning. And doing either in a car puts me to sleep even faster.

  3. I’ll be looking forward to your review of The Wednesday Sisters , as I’ve been debating about whether or not to add it to my TBRs. Thanks for the update!

  4. It ruins me to have to get up early to do something like an airport trip, so you have my every sympathy! I am most interested in the book, however, as it may well fit in with my mothers project. I’m interested in stuff from the 50s and 60s at the moment. And I always look forward to your reviews, on any book!

  5. I have not been in a reading mode this week either. I think it has something to do with the summer weather, because I just want to be outside whenever I can.

    Sounds like you’ve got some interesting books to read. Right now I don’t have anything I really like.

  6. Pingback: Bookmarks about Salon

Leave a Reply

