Musing Monday

Did you know about Musing Monday?  I didn’t – until today, that is.  Here’s what MizB has asked us to muse upon today…

If you keep your books, where do you keep them? And, if you give them away, who do you give them to? Do you participate in Bookcrossing, BookMooch, PaperbackSwap, or the like? Do you give your old books to family & friends, or donate them? Are any of your books in storage due to not having enough space for them all? Or, are you one of the lucky ones who has their own “library”? Feel free to share pictures, if you have them!

This is a bit of a sore subject at my house, mostly because of the bookstacks which threaten to overtake every free inch of space.  My dear husband gets tired of tripping over them, so I try to keep the stacks confined to areas of the house which I frequent.   As of now, I have two sets of shelves in my basement, and both are double and triple lined.  Recent acquisitions, library books, and my research section of books on writing ( Write On Wednesday resource material) remain in my little study, stacked in corners and inside the closet.

My fondest desire is to have one place somewhere, anywhere, in my house with floor to ceiling bookshelves lining the walls and room for all my books to neatly fit inside.

Yes, I keep many of my books.  Not all…I only wish I could, but sadly, good homes must occasionally be found for some of them.  My books go hither and yon – to the library, to friends, to BookMoocher’s (which is a great service although it does nothing to alleviate the bookstack problem), in giveaways here at Bookstack (which I should have more often, shouldn’t I?)

Now tell me…what happens to your book collection?

2 thoughts on “Musing Monday

  1. We moved into this house a year ago, and it’s the first time we’ve had a family room and living room. The living room has now become “the library” and it is my favorite room in the house. It’s not fancy, the bookshelves are all varying heights and mismatched, but the majority of my books (and the kids’ books) are in there and there’s a comfy couch and lamp.

    I’m getting better at giving away my books. The organization that I work for operates an upscale resale shop and I donate my used books there. If it’s a book I loved, I keep it.

Leave a Reply

