Musing Monday

How long do you wait after finishing a book before you pick/start another one? How many books do you have planned ahead or do you pick up random books from your tbr pile (if you have one)? Do you review right away or keep reading and come back to it later?

Like most ravenous readers, I always have a stack of books on reserve, for if I didn’t, there would be definite pandemonium.  But even though there may be books calling my name, I’m not always quick to grab one up.  Sometimes, especially with a book I’ve dearly loved, it’s necessary to let the story sit awhile, linger in the mind, before jumping into the next reading relationship.   I usually don’t plan my reading lists, I like to see what strikes my fancy.  Reading is definitely mood related, and dependent on my life to a degree.  When I’m really busy at work, or in an emotionally trying time, I’ll want to keep my reading light and upbeat.

This business of writing about (or “reviewing”) books is new to me, but I quickly discovered the necessity of seting my thoughts down quite soon after finishing the book.  Otherwise, all the impressions and feelings seem to get swept into the cobweb strewn corners of my mind, never to see the light of day!

As I wrote yesterday, I’m currently reading multiple books, and, as so often happens in that situation, I’m not enjoying any of them very much.   Apparently, I’m monogamous when it comes to my reading relationships 🙂

6 thoughts on “Musing Monday

  1. I do tend to move on quite swiftly to the next, but I know the feelling of hollowness that accompanies the end of a wonderful book. I try to review quite quickly after having finished reading, and then occasionally something will escape me. So, for instance, I have a Lawrence Durrell novel I finished a month or so ago that still needs to make it onto the blog!

  2. Becca, I’m with you. I don’t understand how people can juggle several books at a time. I find that I lose touch with the characters, not to say the style and pacing, if I have more than one book going. I’ve made exceptions for short stories or magazine pieces, but if I leave a book too long, I feel guilty.

  3. Becca – You know that stack of books you mention? Well, awhile ago, I went on a spree for several weeks and stacked up about 6 new books to read, ok, maybe 7 or 8.
    I have been saving them, walking by the stack, savoring the time during the Holidays when I might sit down, choose one and sink into it.

    But it’s halfway through December, my shopping is not “done” (a strange term) and I find myself dipping into that stack to give some of those very books away as gifts!!!
    My precious stack is dwindling!!!
    I have to remind myself that you are supposed to give something that you would love to keep (something like that) but as I am reading a book now, I find I’m not concentrating, not really enjoying it that much. I find myself thinking about the stack of “my” books in the other room. I’m a monogamous reader but apparently need to know there are several more, ok, a lot more, in the queue.
    Guess I’ll have to whisper in santa’s ear about some new books, or, am I just a bookaholic?

Leave a Reply

