Booking Through Thursday – Reading Time

And there never seems to be enough time, to do the things you want, once you find themTime in a Bottle, Jim Croce

Remember that song?  When my husband and I were teenagers in the throes of first love, it was our theme song.  We always felt cheated by time, as if it was conspiring to keep us apart.

Now, I believe Time in a Bottle has turned into my life’s theme song.  “I’m so tired of never having any time…” I told my mother earlier this morning when I picked her up for our weekly food shopping trip.  “If I only had more time…” I whined to my husband last night.

This week’s Booking Through Thursday asks if we have enough time to read, and what we would read if we were suddenly gifted with all the time in the world.

Well, of course I don’t have enough time to read.  I’m fortunate if I’m able to snatch 30 minutes in the morning with my coffee and book, and perhaps another 10 or 15 minutes at night before my eyes become too heavy and tired to focus.   Even though I carry some form of book with me everywhere, and sometimes listen to audiobooks, it’s simply not enough.  As I discovered back in the summer of 1973, when you’re so deeply in love,  there’s never enough time to be together.

If I had more time to read, I’d make some headway into those mountainous TBR piles.  I’d work my way through a second (or third) read of all my most beloved books.  I’d devour all those marvelous stories vying for my attention – the mysteries, the biographies, the new fiction and the classics that have escaped me. I cuddle up with my books and while away the hours in companionable silence, immersed in other worlds, communing with all the fascinating characters.

But alas, I fear I’m doomed to the mad dash of modern existence, while the longing to read continues to haunt me. 

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Reading Time

  1. I think we all feel the same way. I don’t often reread some of my old favorites because there are so many other books I need to read for the first time.

  2. I usually read two hours over breakfast every morning, taking my time and sitting at the sunniest spot at my neighborhood coffee shop. (It’s San Francisco…everyone has their coffee at the cafes). Then I’ll slip in some reading time when no students come for office hour. I’ll read a bit more at home in the evening since I don’t watch much TV.

    Recently I listen to audio books during the morning commute…I don’t read in bed, but I’ll have a book on the night-stand.

  3. I hear you… I’m always complaining about not having enough time. I’ve tried a couple of audio books but somehow I can’t seem to get into them. Maybe I need to try harder that way I could “read” while I craft. Maybe then I’d get to more of my books!

  4. Who does have enough time these days? I feel like I have to carve up every second that I am at home to get done the things I want to do with my time. It’s hard! I pretty much gave up TV watching to aid me on my quest. Ah, to do nothing but read for a while!

  5. Aaahhh, time! What do we do to ourselves? I seem to remember I used to have time to do all sorts of things but now, I have to carve time out for reading out of already overful days. I’m totally with you on this one, but cannot offer a solution!

Leave a Reply

