Booking Through Thursday (Friday)~Gifting Books

Do you give books as gifts?  To everyone? Or only to select people?  How do you feel about receiving books as gifts?

What is the best book you ever bought for yourself?  And, why? What made it the best? What made it so special?

As I spent the entirety of Thursday in a mad dash to get everything done just so I could stay home today and escape being out in this absolutely wretched snowstorm, I’m just now getting ’round to this week’s Booking Through Thursday thoughts to ponder.

 Certainly gifting is much on my mind these days.  And it’s quite interesting to note that, since I’ve been making a conscious effort to limit my personal spending over the past year, there are actually quite a lot of things on my Chrismas list (books included!)  In years past I was hard pressed to think of a thing I wanted, simply because I took care of myself quite well in the gifting department.   I treated myself to books on a regular basis, back in the days “when we all had money,” as my son is wont to say (what he really means is when we all spent money, whether we had it or not.) 

I now consider buying books ~ for myself or for others ~ a real treat.   This year, I allotted a large portion of my book buying dollars to First Book, a purchase I feel very good about. 

Of course, I love getting books as gifts, and I love it even more when it’s clear the giver knows my reading tastes.  That’s no easy task, is it?  Years ago, I was extremely touched when my husband gave me the newly published Selected Poetry of Sylvia Plath as a Christmas gift, for I had no idea he was aware of my interest in her work.  He had taken the time to observe what I was reading without my saying a word, and his attention to that detail was the greatest gift of all. 

I admit that I often take the easy road and purchase book store gift cards…I adore getting those myself, and have a delightful time wanding around trying to make the all important decision about how to spend it.  *hint, hint* 

Here’s hoping your holiday is wonderfully bookish 🙂

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday (Friday)~Gifting Books

  1. Happy BTT’ing! I’ve noticed that I’ve gifted myself less books this year as well, which is a good thing! I think the most important thing about getting a book for a friend or family member is to make sure to match the book effectively with their personality or interests.

  2. Ah yes books, the perfect gift! Under the encouragement of my husband, I made up an Amazon wishlist, but it ended up being all books. There was just nothing else I really wanted as much!

Leave a Reply

