Much Ado About Shakespeare

A Shakespearean-meme.   Wonder what the bard would say?   Whatever – I’ll play along 🙂  Thanks for the tag, Gautami!

What was your first introduction to William Shakespeare?  Was it love or hate?

Ninth grade honors English, Mrs. Virginia Walz, teacher – tough teacher, but extrordinary.   It was tradition for that class to read Romeo and Juliet  aloud – in “readers theater” fashion.   (Blind) audtions were held for parts, and the class voted on their choices for each character.  Guess who was chosen as Juliet?   Yes, moi.  To make things even better…Romeo was read by my “true love” at the time.   Yes indeed, it was love all ’round in room 205 that spring.  Needless to say,  I was completely enamored with Shakespeare.

Which Shakespeare plays have you been require to read?

Well, R & J, obviously.  I also took a Shakespeare class in high school, and read Hamlet, Richard III, Taming of the Shrew, and Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Do you think Shakespeare is important? Are you a better person for having read the bard?

Important?  For anyone at all interested in literature or theater, absolutely.  I don’t know that I’m a better person for having read Shakespeare, but I’m certainly a more knowledgeable person.  So many of our modern expressions and ideas about theater and comedy originated with “the bard.”  I enjoy knowing “from whence those traditions came.”

Do you have a favorite Shakespeare play?

I’m a hopeless romantic – Romeo and Juliet  is my favorite.  Followed closly by Much Ado About Nothing.

 How do your feel about contemporary takes on Shakespeare?  Adaptations of Shakespeare’s work with a more modern feel?  (For example, the new line of Magna Shakespeare graphic novels, or novels like Something Rotten, Something Wicked, Enter Three Witches, Ophelia, etc.)  Do you have a favorite you’d recommend?

I’ ve not read any of these. I’ve seen dramatizations set in modern times, and quite enjoyed them.

What’s your favorite movie version of a Shakespeare play?

Back in the early 1970’s, a film of Romeo and Juliet was released which I recall quite fondly.  It came out during the time I was in that famous ninth grade production, so we took a field trip to see it.  I also recall huge controversy over the whole thing because there was a (gasp!) nudity involved.  (I believe Olivia Hussey, the lovely young actresss who played Juliet, showed a bare breast.)   More lately, I really enjoyed Much Ado About Nothing…particularly that  gorgeous scene where the men ride in on horseback…

If you’d like to share Shakespearean thoughts and memories, consider yourself tagged.

5 thoughts on “Much Ado About Shakespeare

  1. I wish you the best in this holiday season, full of joy and memories, and a healthy, bookish new year! Merry Christmas! 🙂

    I have been tagged for this one…I’ll get to it after Christmas.

Leave a Reply

