Booking Through Thursday-Reading Resolutions

This week Booking Through Thursday asks:

So … any Reading Resolutions? Say, specific books you plan to read? A plan to read more ____? Anything at all? Name me at least ONE thing you’re looking forward to reading this year!

I must admit, I’m not much of a planner when it come to reading.  Somehow it seems my life is so prescribed and ordered in every other area, so I let my reading life be bit whimsical.  I read what I feel like, when I feel like it, and I don’t worry whether it’s on the best seller list or not.

And I suppose that’s why I’m a bit wary of joining  book challenges so many of you participate in.  When I began book blogging I was simply amazed at the plethora of creative reading challeneges book bloggers set for themselves!  I know I could never keep up with the requirements of so many challenges.  In 2008, I did join Kate’s Short Story Challenge, which I completed and found most beneficial, for it helped me learn to read and-more importantly-learn to enjoy reading short stories.

So with that experience in mind, I’ve chosen one challenge in which to participate this year ~ the World Citizen Challenge, which I’ve selected in honor of my son, who is quite a world citizen himself.  He’s traveled to several continents, and divides his time between southern Florida and his wife’s hometown in southern Thailand.  He’s learned to live in a totally different culture, and appreciate customs and history far different from those he was raised to find familiar. 

While I’m not quite the traveler he is, I can at least learn from my armchair, as I read my way through this challenge.  I haven’t yet chosen the books I will read, but will likely be looking for books related to Asian culture.

Other than that, my reading list is wide open…just as I like it to be! 

How about you?   Do you carefully plan your reading, or simply go with the flow?

11 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday-Reading Resolutions

  1. Reading challenges can be good and bad–they create the opportunity for you to read things that you wouldn’t normally pick up, but they also create this extra pressure for you to finish the challenge, even if nothing will actually happen if you don’t. I tend to be a whimsical reader myself, and I’ve only started attempting challenges a couple of years ago. Neither of the challenges I did (same one each year, actually) were completed, but I had fun picking the books and setting the goal for myself anyway. In the end, I think that’s the best thing to come out of these challenges that float around in the blogosphere. 🙂

  2. I’m not a big best-seller reader, myself. I like finding the small treasures. I’m also batting around the possibility of joining a challenge, but I just don’t know. I may try as a non-participant, participant and see if it even makes sense for me.

  3. I agree that reading should be a rather spontaneous and whimsical area of life, and yet I’ve signed up for 13 challenges this year. It’s the first time I’ve signed up for any, so I’m rather apprehensive. I’m thinking after 2009, I might just go back to spontaneity. Don’t think I can stand the pressure of time limits etc..

    I’ve also joined the World Citizen challenge, and I’m looking forward to it very much.

    By the way, happy new year! Hope 2009 holds many blessings and happy moments for you 🙂

  4. Becca, I feel so honoured that you chose to join my challenge. 🙂

    As I think you probably suspect, I like to organise my reading, but I always leave space for rebellion, and I don’t beat myself up for ignoring my plans!

  5. I plan what I’m going to read – sometimes I do read the books I’ve picked but I also like to go with the flow and read whatever takes my fancy.

    I’m not going to join many challenges this year because I find I feel too pressured if I don’t read the books. The World Citizen Challenge looks amazing, truly a challenge. I don’t think I can be that organised at the moment.

    Happy New Year – with lots of good books and other good things in store, I hope.

  6. Challenges have been a good jumping off point for me – reading genres I might not have tried. I never let those challenges pressure me, however… reading time is too precious.
    I am planning to continue my goal of inner peace and personal growth this year, reading a bit of Norman Vincent Peele, Flannery O’Connor, Wayne Dyer, and whatever else pops up. I copied this quote from someone’s blog – I can’t remember who it was unfortunately – but it is a beautiful way to start the year:
    “I will seek elegance rather than luxury, refinement rather than fashion. I will seek to be worthy more than respectable, wealthy and not rich. I will study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly. I will listen to stars and birds, babes and sages, with an open heart. I will bear all things cheerfully, do all things bravely, await occasions and hurry never. In a word I will let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious grow up through the common.” W.E. Channing

    In addition, I am reading some Science Fiction this month, thanks to inspiration from Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings. I have started with “Old Man War.”

    I am looking forward to getting back to Write on Wednesday, too. Thanks for being a blogging buddy, Becca. Happy New Year!

  7. The World Citizen Challenge sounds really interesting! 🙂 I might join up, too. I’m always looking for new reading adventures.

    I plan on reading more young adult this year, as I begin to branch into writing young adult full-time. I’ve been experimenting with different genres — usually women’s fiction — but hope that my voice will lend itself to YA novels. We’ll see! 🙂

    And I wanted to thank you for all of your kind words over at my blog — they mean a lot to me! I hope your new year is off to a great start and more wonderful things are to come! Happy reading! 🙂

  8. I do a little bit of both. I like to plan so that I know I have books to read that I will be interested, but I also love browsing online and at the library to find more spur of the moment reads.

    I am involved with 14 challenges (most of which overlap) but I have planned out my reading so that I can read one book a week for challenges and one book a week for pleasure.

  9. I didn’t make any real “resolutions”, but I do have reading plans for the year 🙂

    I joined several challenges (and am hosting one), and think that many will fill in naturally over the course of the year, then I’ll go back in choose books to fill in the gaps. Maybe not the true intent of a challenge, we’ll see how it goes!

    My BTT post is here.

  10. Reading is the one thing that I don’t plan or organize, at least not with the same effort as I organize my house and schedule. I’m a spontaneous reader who doesn’t go with the flow. I have been wary of joining too many reading challenges because I lose interest half way through them and I have to bow out. I have joined the World Citizen Challenge because I want to read more non fiction this year. 🙂

  11. I like to have lots of plans but I never take them too seriously. My interests develop, my needs change and new, irresistible books appear on the horizon. That’s all as it should be. But I like to have some guidelines too. Best of luck with your challenge this year – hope it leads you to discover some treasures.

Leave a Reply

