Bookstack Birthday (and a Giveaway, too)

One year ago tonight, while en route from Florida to Michigan, I was lounging in the motel in Macon, Georgia, opened the sleek little laptop computer Santa brought me, and started this blog about books.  Now, twelve months and  155  posts later, I’m simply amazed at the network of booklovers I’ve encountered.  I can say with certainty that book blogging was one of the highlights of  my 2008!

Last year at this time I was reading a book about books ….Literacy and Longing in LA, the story of Dora, a Los Angeles bibliophile, who allowed her passion for books to rule her life.  The book was a light hearted look at a truly ravenous reader, a fun novel written co-authored by Jennifer Kaufman and Karen Mack.

Oddly enough, right now I’m reading another book about books and the power of reading …The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  (And this one is team written, too, by Mary Ann Shaffer-who sadly passed away in February 2008- and her niece Annie Barrows.)  Early in the novel, which is written in epistolary form and centers around the correspondence between  Juliet Ashton, a  journalist in post WWII London, and a group of folks in the Channel Islands who formed a rather unusual literary  society during the German occupation, Juliet writes this:

That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you onto another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book.  It’s geometrically progressive, all with no end in sight, and for nother other reason than sheer enjoyment.

Reading is one of life’s simplest, yet most complex pleasures, for while it may begin as a solitary pastime, it often extends the reader into far reaching interests and relationships.  It’s relationships that are at the core of The Guernsey Literary Society, the bonds that the members create during this most stressful wartime situation, the way they support each other during times of sorrow and deprivation, and the way books provide the added ingredient to help them cope with it all.    This little book has received all manner of good publicity this season, which is quite well deserved.  Shaffer and Barrows have given us a charming novel ~ well written, informative, and filled with memorable characters who touch the reader’s heart in many ways.

Whilst reading The Guernsey Literary Society,  I couldn’t help but think about the relationships we form here in the blogosphere, the support and care we come to feel for people who are really virtual strangers in the physical sense, but such close compatriots in terms of our shared passion for the written word.  So here’s to reading~and writing about reading, in all it’s forms and fashions, from letters and diaries, to books and blogs!

And to celebrate the Bookstack birthday, there’s a present for you.   Has reading ever led you to form a new relationship, or changed an existing relationship in some way?  Leave a comment about your experience for a chance to win a copy of  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  A winner will be chosen at random on January 10, 2009.

21 thoughts on “Bookstack Birthday (and a Giveaway, too)

  1. My love of books has led me to the book blogging community. It’s nice to know that there are other people who are as obsessed as me.

    Oh, did you ever pick the winner for the $25 gift card?

  2. Oh, I hope this means you are loving Guernsey…. Which of course I have, so don’t enter me into the competition.

    Reading has opened doors to friendships, absolutely. It has, among other things, introduced me to you.

  3. Happy blogaversary! No need to enter me since I’ve read (and loved!) Guernsey, but just had to chime in and say yes, my love of books led me to some of the best friends a gal could have. Our mutual obsession with the printed page has been the basis for a solid friendship and I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

  4. Happy birthday to your blog! My love of books inspired me to start a book club with some friends that has led to wonderful discussion, fun nights out and making new friends. Reading is great!

  5. Happy birthday to you and your blog! It’s wonderful having you as part of the community. I do already possess a copy of The Guernsey etc, but I’ve made so many lovely friendships thanks to reading and writing on my blog, I never guessed how much my life would be enhanced by it.

  6. Happy Blog Birthday 🙂 I just found your blog a few days ago and I’m enjoying your reviews. Guernsey is on my TBR list so put me in the draw. I think that my relationships with friends who are also readers tend to be richer because a book discussion so often leads to personal sharing on a deeper level. So yes reading has definitely changed many relationships for the good.

  7. Happy Blogday. Reading changed for me in a great way 6 years ago in November when I found my birth mother and the bond that was strongest between us was that we both loved to read. It has kept in constant contact where we share what we are reading. She has given me more than just my life, she has given me someone to share my love of reading with:) I will enjoy another year of your great proses.

  8. Happy Blogiversary! Recently I discovered that a fellow blogger (B&b ex libris) lived near me and joined her bookclub. It’s my first real life book club, and I’m loving it. I have had so much fun making new friends in the book club these past two months. There’s something wonderful about finding friends who understand your love of books.

  9. I am so glad that you stopped by my site to say hello and give me some much appreciated encouragement. Thank you!

    It seems like a year of blogging has been very rewarding for you! I hope to make a similar entry this time next year.

    I read Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society over the Thanksgiving break and truly enjoyed it. It is very kind of you to offer it as a give away.

    Best wishes for 2009 – and I look forward to getting to know you better!

  10. I think thats a really good question. I have been blogging for more than 2 years, but it wasn’t a book blog right from the start. In fact I started blogging extensively about books about 6 months back. I have met so many new people and I have been fortunate to interact with them on a daily basis even though it is only virtual. So for me it was a huge change talking about books I like and reading about what others like.

    Happy Blogiversary!!!

  11. Happy blogging anniversary! 🙂 Congratulations on all of your accomplishments so far, and I hope 2009 is a great one for you!

    Among many awesome opportunities, reading led me to my boyfriend! As avid readers, we both started working at a local bookstore around the same time and first bonded over our shared love of the written word. And we’ve been together, reading like crazy, ever since!

    I have Guernsey Literary in my bookstack, so no need to enter me — but thanks for the opportunity! My sister got it for me for Christmas and I can’t wait to start it!

  12. Happy Biblioblogiversary!

    As a person whose often been the quiet girl with her nose in a book, I’ve often made friends when they came up and asked the universal question, “What’re you reading?”

    And I’ve course, through various blogs, I’ve met you.

  13. Happy blog-birthday! I’ve got Guernsey somewhere in my TBR stack but I’m still not sure what to expect from it, b/c I’ve never been satisfied by books written in epistolary form… I look forward to reading your review 🙂

  14. Please enter me. This book sounds fabulous and has been on my TBR list for awhile. I would love to win! Books have enriched the friendships and family relationships in my life in so many ways. My aunt and I, although we don’t see each other very often, always enjoy sharing with one another what we are reading and talking about our love for books. Thanks for the contest!

  15. My relationship with my almost four year old daugther changes constantly… when we read, be it a book together or with separate books side by side on the couch, we grow together in our love for each other and the written word….

  16. Not sure if this is too late. But my friend at work and I share books and talk about them all the time. We love the same type of books.

Leave a Reply

