Monday Musings From the Sickroom

mondaymusing

This week’s Muse for Monday:

How does your being sick (or injured) affect your reading? Do you read more? Less? Do you pick out a different book than you had already planned? Do you have a “comfort book” that makes you feel better?

My childhood was fraught with illness – nothing serious, happily, but recurring episodes of asthma and bronchitis related to allergy. Many a night I was awake ’til all hours, the vaporizer puffing away in my little bedroom.  On those occasion my grandmother often read, usually from Little Women or Heidi.  Somehow the sound of her voice with its gentle southern accent kept me from panicking as I struggled to catch a deep breath.

Coincidentally, I’ve been under the weather for the past week.  Chronic sinus infections have become the plague of my adult years, and I’ve spent lots of time wrapped in blankets with heating pads and hot teas.  Of course there are books to keep me company – nothing too taxing mind you, perhaps an Elizabeth George mystery, or something fun by my friend Sandi Khan Shelton.  A really good story that sweeps you up into the thick of it, distracting your thoughts from stuffy heads and ringing eardrums, is just what the doctor ordered.

Hmm…perhaps I’ll even go search out my copy of Little Women. <smiles>

13 thoughts on “Monday Musings From the Sickroom

  1. It seems a lot of people are under the weather. Alot of people who answered this question said they were sick.

    Rebecca I had an author visit the blog today. I posted a new podcast of our interview. It’s not Little House, but it is fairly entertaining.

    Inklings Main Page

  2. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been poorly! There’s nothing more therapeutic than a really good comfort read, I find. How nice to have a calm grandmother’s voice to hold you through the childhood anxieties of illness. That must be a comforting memory.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well! I was often kept up at night by asthma as a child, so I know what you mean about wanting something calming – especially if you can’t breathe! Little Women is still my favorite book, all these years later, and think it may be the perfect cure for those sickly blues!

  4. Feel better! I’ve been troubled by allergies and reactions to the intensely dry air this winter, my sinuses slammed shut after Halloween and I’ve been totally congested and stuffy ever since. Bleh.

    I try to keep plowing on through my reading while I’m sick. I tackled the end of Lolita when I had the flu one year. That kinda sucked, lol.

  5. As a busy mom to younguns I don’t have time to be sick. That’s what holidays are for. 🙂 Sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling well. Little Women is a great comfort book. I’m reading it to the kiddos now.

  6. Guess this is the season for sick, isn’t it? Having just spent a week getting over a head cold, I can say that I gravitated toward lighter reads. But, being sick, I actually read less rather than more, I guess because I kept falling asleep!

  7. Hi!

    I’m a newbie, but I do enjoy your blog. Sorry you’ve been sick. Sinus infections especially are no fun. Found myself at the beginning of this year re-reading childhood favorites; only after it was pointed out to me as “comfort” reading, did I realize that was what I had been doing. They were so easy to fall into–just like Alice down the rabbit hole–and I got back that old feeling of total submission to the story. Mysteries are also good, but when I’m really down I turn to the poets. They comfort me as nothing–and no one–else can. Feel better!

  8. I loved Little Women as a kid, though I read Little Men first. Then i went on to Eight Cousins and everything else by Louisa May I could get my hands on. My other great comfort as a kid was L.M. Montgomery (Anne of Green Gables), especially Emily of New Moon. I wrote the sketch for my first novel on PEI because of her, and I’m sure I’m not the only one. As a matter of fact for years I read my favourite kids’ books when I was sick. Now that I have my own kids, being sick is a whole other kettle of fish.

Leave a Reply

