Monday Musing: Library Day

mondaymusing2

This Monday’s Muse:

How often do you visit the library? Do you have a scheduled library day/time, or do you go whenever? Do you go alone, or take people with you?

 

Ah, library day.  Since I was a toddler, I’ve eagerly anticipated any day which might include a trip to the library.  It’s a treat and a pilgrimage rolled into one, a time to peruse books old and new while marveling at all the delightful volumes of knowledge and entertainment set before me.

So any day can be library day, any day when there’s time or the inclination…just yesterday morning, I decided I must have Laurie King’s The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (thanks, Eva, for the recommendation).  I was also interested in reading Palace Walk, part one of Naguib Mahfouz’  Cairo Trilogy (per Myrthe’s review).  So off I went, happily finding both books waiting for me on the shelves.  Of course, I couldn’t resist a couple of other finds from my “want to read” list…Jamie Ford’s The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, and Curtis Settenfields American Wife

My library visits are generally just for me.  Recently, my husband has become quite a reader,  but he’s extremely organized in his reading habits, and reserves his books on line so all he needs do is stop at the desk and pick them up.  He doesn’t appreciate the art of book browsing as I do.  <smiles>  When I was in school, my girlfriends and I often went to the library together, and had great fun recommending books for one another.  Oddly enough, few of my current reading friends use the library.  I can’t imagine why, can you?

Now tell me about your library days…

14 thoughts on “Monday Musing: Library Day

  1. I love all Laurie Kings books..

    I like the idea of browsing…and being able to reserve online. see if I can reserve and just pick up the book I really want, I have more time to browse for the ones I didn’t know I wanted.

  2. This topic makes me think about Sex and the City when Mr. Big tells Carrie that she might be the last person in NY that still checks books out of the library.

    I’m a little sad to say that I don’t go to the library at all. A long time ago I decided I wanted to have my own library full of books I love, books I can teach others to love; like my kids maybe (if I ever have any) my friends’ kids, my friends. I love to buy a book and see it its pages when I’m done that I have gone through it like it has gone through me.

    Book stores in the other hand I visit often. I like going alone so i can spend as long as I want. I love that feeling of privacy that comes with reading the first few pages of a book in the corner of an isle where perhaps another person is also engulfed in the first pages of another world, just like I am.

    The bad part is that in not going to the library I spend too much money on buying books that I can’t always get to read as quickly as I’d like since I have so much to read for school.

  3. I just started a new job (woohoo) and I mentioned in passing that I had to run by the library after work. My co-worker looked at me in disgust and said: “Eww, why would you want to do that?” And I responded: “Because the library is my second favorite place in the world beside my house.” He laughed at me. I should perhaps have laughed at him because folks who haven’t discovered the joys of the library are leading a dim life indeed. I’m at the library at least once a week. One of my favorite things is that I can order any book in the library system and have it delivered to my home branch. The library will alert me by email when my book is in. It’s pretty awesome. I’m constantly surprised at the extensive holdings of my library here in Atlanta.

  4. I’ve just re-discovered library-going after many years of reading only my own books. I had almost forgotten how much fun it can be. Sounds like your library is very well-stocked.

  5. The library is my saving grace. I stop in to pick up the one book reserved online–and leave with at least 5 more. It is an amazing place, offering concerts, movies, book groups, recommendations, access to the holdings of other libraries in the area, loads of kidstuff (that once we took full advantage of)–and of course, the stacks! Nothing like that library smell; if only I could remember to return things on time…

  6. I hope you enjoy The Beekeeper’s Apprentice! 🙂

    Like you, library day is whenever I feel like it (well, and right now, whenever I feel healthy enough to drive). I can’t imagine actually scheduling a library day! lol

  7. I just finished The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, and loved it! It was the first of Laurie R. King’s books I’ve read, but I’ve already reserved the next few at the library. If you like that one, you should try Carolyn Nelson Douglas’s Irene Adler series- they are excellent- and nary a cat in the series. I’m planning on a massive re-reading… as soon as my bedside table is not quite so overwhelmingly stacked.

    As to the library- one of my favorite places. It’s on the way home from work, and always helps the rotten days. I can browse for hours- which pretty much answers the question of if I go by myself or not. It’s like retail therapy without the debit card! 🙂

  8. I love browsing at the library, but it’s hard to do that in peace with a toddler in tow. So I usually reserve my books online, pick them up at the desk, and then help her browse. We visit at least once a week, sometimes more!

  9. I go to the university library only for academic books, and so my visiting is in fits and starts. We do have a little library in the village, and occasionally we’ve been there for audio books. I’m immensely glad libraries exist – I couldn’t research without mine – and I’d support them wherever possible.

  10. Uh oh. I visit the library regularly when I am doing research for books (and all my books have required research). But when it’s reading for pleasure that I want, I go to bookstores. I’m determined to keep the publishing industry alive, and so I buy everything I read that isn’t in some way historic or archival.

  11. What a good day at the library for you! I work just near the main branch of the San Francisco Public library, and I often stop by on the way home to pick up something I’ve heard someone mention online. The other day, for example, litlove reviewed The Sisters, a wonderful novel about Emily Dickinson “narrated” by her sister Lavinia — and when I stopped by to see if it was there, it was — not one, but two copies. This is what I love about the library — they often have what you want and it is FREE! xoxo

Leave a Reply

