Poetry Post: Among the Trees

April 1 – some would say a day for fool’ s- but I say it’s a day for poets.  April is National Poetry Month, in honor of which I post a favorite poem, one that comes to mind whenever I’m out walking (as I was earlier this evening) among the trees.

When I Am Among the Trees

by Mary Oliver

When I am among the trees,

especially the willows and the honey locust,

equally the beech, the oaks and the pines,

they give off such hints of gladness,

I would almost say that they save me, and daily.

I am so distant from the hope of myself,

in which I have goodness, and discernment,

and never hurry through the world

but walk slowly, and bow often.

Around me the trees stir in their leaves

and call out “Stay awhile.”

The light flows from their branches.

And they call again, “It’s simple,” they say,

“and you too have come

into the world to do this, to go easy, to be filled

with light, and to shine.”

 

Love it.

Now tell me, do you have a favorite poem to share?

 

10 thoughts on “Poetry Post: Among the Trees

  1. “I would almost say that they save me, and daily.” Yes. Oliver is probably our premier poet of ‘natural connection.’
    Thanks for sharing this one. Happy Poetry Month, indeed!

  2. I’ve just recently discovered Mary Oliver last year, so this year I found her Selected and New Poems, and I’m reading one or two a night before bed. I absolutely love her. The poem you print here is one i haven’t seen yet. Trees save her. Trees save me, too! I’m going to have to copy this poem out! thanks so much for sharing it with us, Becca 🙂

  3. Among the Trees
    Among the Trees
    Among the Trees
    Among the Trees
    I want to be planted
    Among the Trees when I gone
    When I leave this life
    And go unto another life
    I want to be planted
    Among the Trees when I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

