Musing Mondays -Reading Time

mondaymusings

Do you have a set reading time (before bed, perhaps?)  Do you read more at night or during the day?  Is there a day of the week that you set aside to catch up on reading?

 

My day begins and ends with reading, for the first thing I do upon rising (after pouring that first cup of coffee!) is settle into my favorite armchair with a book.   My living room faces east, so I can keep one eye on the sunrise while I read, and the morning sky is often streaked with orange and magenta as the sun makes its way above the stand of oak trees in my across-the-street neighbor’s back yard.  Before long, at least one of the dogs will join me, climbing sleepily onto the back of the chair behind me.    And so we usually  pass the first hour of the day.  Mornings are the most productive reading time for me, and I try to keep a notebook at hand to jot down page numbers or quotes, or thoughts that strike me while reading.

At close of day, in those last few moments before falling asleep, I take up my book once again.  It provides solace from the worries and concerns of the day, and lets my mind drift into a different place before I fall asleep. 

Now tell me, when and where do you do your best reading?

12 thoughts on “Musing Mondays -Reading Time

  1. That sounds so wonderful, Becca!

    My best reading is when we’re all sitting in the living room reading at the same time. It’s still only in short bursts because my younger dtr still finds reading a labour. But it’s coming, it’s coming.

  2. I always read before bed, too! It’s one of my favorite parts of the day… my time to just relax and rejuvenate, let my mind wander away from the stress of the work day! I totally agree. In fact, I’ll be off to read again very soon!

  3. My best reading time is: attending on a nearby bench while child plays at the park; attending bathtub side while child plays in the water; companion on the couch while hubby watches sports. My favorite reading time is right before bed, but I seem to have not got much of that lately. It’s fall into bed and fall asleep! (gardening makes me tired)

  4. What a great post! I love reading in the mornings at my kitchen table with a cup of coffee. Sometimes I try to read at night but I’m usually too tired. You make me want to try reading at night more. Have a great week.

  5. How nice to read with the sunrise! Alas, this insomniac does her best reading at night…mornings are for newspapers and coffee, coffee, coffee 😉

  6. I try always to read in the morning, too. Becca – I must tell you that your book arrived with me yesterday. In fact, it arrived about 10 days ago, but since I was out it was delivered to a neighbour who then went away on holiday! She brought it round yesterday morning. So thank you very very much indeed – it looks marvellous and I can’t wait to read it.

  7. I make the most progress with time in the morning (as long as I have nothing else on the agenda for a while), but also enjoy an hour or so at night, or 5 minutes in bed at the very end of the day.

    I’ve also been known to steal 30 minutes on my lunch hour. Very refreshing!

  8. How wonderful Becca! I am more of a night-time reader and the way you described it is exactly the reason why it works so well for me. Reading before going to sleep is the perfect way to unwind.

  9. I usually read in the evening and check blogs in the morning with my coffee, but I think my reading would be much more productive if I reversed the two!

  10. My best reading time is early morning (around 6:30) at the coffee shop where I read for about 2 hours. The place is usually quiet, tables taken by regulars who are mindful of each other’s quiet routine.

  11. One thing about my reading habits is that I tend to have the strongest desire to read read more when I can’t (have to get to work, have to get to bed, lunch hour is over, etc.). And then sometimes (not always) when I have hours stretching out in front of me in which I can read I end up getting distracted (tv, blogging, etc.).

    Having said that, I have kind of fallen into the habit of reading in the morning, which is quite surprising to me. Some days it is after a workout so I am wide awake, and some days, like this morning, I can barely see the page at first because I have just woken up and my eyes aren’t quite adjusted.

    Lunch hour is a big one, anytime on public transport, and every night before bed.

    I enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

