Cautiously Optimistic

Life has been a bit challenging of late, and it’s all I could do to keep up with the necessities of daily living.  There was not an ounce of prose anywhere in me.  Hence, my long absence from the page.

But things are looking up ~ some work is appearing on the horizon for my husband, as is some hope regarding our rental property (where the tenants virtually disappeared in the middle of the night a couple of weeks ago). 

So I’m beginning to retract from my original panic mode, and settle into a stage of realistic resignation.   

This too shall pass.

And in the meantime, I will read.

Here’s what came from the library today:

Good Things I Wish You, by A. Manette Ansay

Testimony, by Anita Shreve

In the Kitchen, by Monica Ali

The Walking People, by Mary Beth Keane

I’m finishing up The Diary of Mattie Spenser, a very enjoyable historical novel by Sandra Dallas, which is a fictionalized account of  a young woman’s experience homesteading the Colorado Territory in the late 1860’s.  This one feeds a couple of my reading passions ~ absorbing what life was like for women in the past, and reading in the “diary” format.  Before that, I read The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, by Syrie James, my first selection for the Everything Austen challenge.  I promise more about that one to come later.

There is one thing that could not be improved upon- our Michigan summer has been as completely delightful as our winter was horrible.   Cool evenings, which are great for sleeping with the window open just a crack, and sunny, dry days with temperatures hovering around 80 degrees.  Simply perfect.

And now I think I’ll retire to the back porch, dip back in time and see what Mattie is up to on the prairie,  and watch the sun set over the orchard.

4 thoughts on “Cautiously Optimistic

  1. So good to hear that things are starting to look better for you.

    I am in love with the last paragraph of your post. I wished I was there right now, instead of on the sofa inside, with a dark, cloudy world outside the window, waiting to transpose into the bleak, wintery world of Dostoyevsky’s life.

  2. Keeping my fingers crossed that things continue to look up for you! Your summer weather sounds delightful. I hope you are enjoying your new library books.

Leave a Reply

