Reading Month

Books have been disappearing from my TBR pile faster than hotcakes from the griddle at Boy Scout camp (and where that analogy came from, I couldn’t say, having never been to Boy Scout camp…)  Nevertheless, July seems to be a hot and heavy reading month for me.  In the past three weeks, I’ve gobbled up all these delicious tomes~

Nothing But Ghosts, Beth Kephart

 The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, Syrie James

The Diary of Mattie Spencer, Sandra Dallas

Good Things I Wish You,  A. Manette Ansay

Testimony, Anita Shreve

All the Colors of Darkness, Peter Robinson

Because I was wondering if July is traditionally a good reading month for me, I looked back in my book diaries over the past several years.  Lo and behold, every July since 1996 (the year my first book diary was born) has been more productive in terms of reading than any other month of the year.   Likely because July is one of the few months where there are no concerts, school or church events, and I can spend all my spare time curled up with a good book and a glass of iced tea.

Just for fun, here’s what was on my reading list 13 years ago this month…

No Body, Nancy Pickard

The Unofficial Rose, Iris Murdoch

Katherine, Anchee Min

Red Mars, Kim Stanley Robinson

In the Presence of the Enemy, Elizabeth George

Cry, the Beloved Country, Alan Paton

Fault Lines, Anne Rivers Siddons

The Dark Room, Minette Walters

Microserfs, Douglas Copeland

Final Account, Peter Robinson

As for what’s up next?   In my mailbox yesterday was  Best Friends Forever, by Jennifer Weiner  and Mercury in Retrograde, by Paula Froelich (courtesy of Simon and Schuser,~thank you very much 🙂 

Now tell me, has July been a good reading month for you?  Do you have one month in the year that’s historically a heavy reading month?

8 thoughts on “Reading Month

  1. Keeping a book journal sounds like a wonderful idea. I keep a Word file so I can remember titles when my friends ask for recommendations, but nothing like the system you have.

    July is a good month for me to read, usually, too. Busy this year, but normally I’m able to get a lot of really satisfying reading done.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. July has been average for me, but man June was crazy. I read, read, read, and it didn’t hurt that I had a ton of graphic novels to read. It’s nice to finish those off in a day or two!

  3. Isn’t it great when you feel like you are making progress on the towering books tacks? 🙂

    So far July is good but yes, I usually have one very good month. For me it’s whenever we go on vacation to see our family in Germany. I don’t blog much, if at all and just spend a couple of weeks with family, friends and books.

  4. I agree that July generally seems to be a better reading month for me than not. Don’t know if it’s the fact that things tend to slow down a bit, or that I get more active in making the commitment to read. Either way, it’s nice to be able to have/make the extra time to read.

  5. I’m afraid I’m flagging…. That’s probably due to having taken a holiday in the wrong place and at the wrong time… I’ve lost my concentration… No, July is definitely not a good month this year. Come on August!

  6. I bought The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen to read, and then, somewhat ironically, lost it somewhere inside my house.

    I haven’t actually read it yet, though I have finally found it. Did you enjoy it? Was it really delicious?

    (January and July are typically my best reading months. This year, I’m all off-kilter.)

  7. I just think it’s amazing that you have kept your book diaries for 13 years. 🙂

    Loved your review on The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen… though it doesn’t make me want to read the book. I love how her novels end happily for most of the characters. I would be heartbroken to read her unhappy ending.

    Alayne
    thecrowdedleaf@wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

