Booking Through Thursday (on Friday): Recent Fun Read

This Thursday BTT asks: What’s the most enjoyable, most fun, most just-darn-entertaining book you’ve read recently?

upforrenewaltpbcover-smallI was suprised by Cathy Alter’s Up for Renewal, and found myself laughing out loud more than I thought possible, considering the current state of affairs in my life.  Alter’s life is in a state of upheaval as well, when, at age 37, she finds herself divorced, working in a dead end job, and engaging in one hopeless relationship after another.

So, she does what any intelligent, creative young writer would do…she creates her own Self Renewal program, using magazines as her textbooks.  With a year’s subscription to all her favorite glossies, she sets out to learn everything from how to get rid of upper arm jiggles and neck wattles, reduce her credit card debt, redecorate her apartment, and – of course – land the perfect man.

Alter is a freelance writer, and has written for many of the magazines she chooses as her guide for the ultimate makeover.  She’s witty, funny, and self-deprecating in a completely lovable way.  Her memoir-ish style book was great fun to read, and definitely renewed my interest in reading magazines.

9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday (on Friday): Recent Fun Read

  1. This sounds really cute. I love that cover as I’m a big magazine reader. Although sadly, I’ve had to let go of a lot of my subscriptions but oh well it’s not like I’m running out of things to read 🙂

  2. Yay!!!!! I truly did JUST buy this book, by chance, while on one of those bookstore sweeps where you don’t know what you want, but stuff just jumps out at you.

    And I am a chick lit fan at heart. Love all kinds of genres, but when I want to just plain enjoy a book for its sheer entertainment, chick lit does it.

    I am delighted to see your review. Yup, I’m gonna enjoy this one!

  3. Oh this sounds like fun. Sometimes I am really grateful to this kind of book for existing and being just plain entertaining. I enjoyed Candace Bushnell’s One Fifth Avenue a while back for being simple escapist pleasure. And I’m currently reading a Georgette Heyer as a pick-me-up. I do love a book that can make me laugh.

  4. This book looks fun and sounds like fun. It’s something I’m hoping to dig into during Thanksgiving break…the is so far away!

  5. Hi Becca, thanks for popping into my blog a week or so…Catching up now. Here’s what’s sad: Try as I might, I can’t think of a just-darn entertaining book that I’ve read recently! Isn’t that awful? I need to lighten up! 🙂

  6. Coming late to this, but yes it sounds like a fun book. Never heard of Cathy Alter but hey that’s what blogs are for and so I’m going to find out! Oops only available in hardback at the whopping price of £13 here in the UK. Oh no, just notice the paperback version, still £8. Perhaps better try and find a second hand copy or, as you said in your previous blog, the library!

Leave a Reply

