Weeding

btt2When’s the last time you weeded out your library? Do you regularly keep it pared down to your reading essentials? Or does it blossom into something out of control the minute you turn your back, like a garden after a Spring rain?  Or do you simply not get rid of books? At all? (This would have described me for most of my life, by the way.)

And–when you DO weed out books from your collection (assuming that you do) …what do you do with them? Throw them away (gasp)? Donate them to a charity or used bookstore?  SELL them to a used bookstore? Trade them on Paperback Book Swap or some other exchange program?

I’m one of those rare gardeners who enjoy weeding.  I love grabbing those nasty, spiky clumps and jerking them out by the roots.  Soothes my inner beast, I suppose. 

Weeding one’s library is not nearly so satisfying.  Alas, it must be done on occasion, if only to make room for more books to blossom on the shelves.  It’s always difficult to part with books, so I’m only willing to do it if I know they’re going to a good home.  

Most of the books I pull from the shelves go to our library book sale. ..and often end up on the library shelves to be borrowed by others…

Occasionally I donate books to the small lending library within our gated community in Florida…

Some books I loan to friends, with permission to pass them along to whoever they feel might enjoy them…

Some go on offer to Book-moochers…

Some get traded at Books Connection, our local independent used book store…

Weeding is a necessary evil, in the garden and in the library.

8 thoughts on “Weeding

  1. I totally agree with you! Sometimes you have books that you never plan on reading or books that don’t fit your taste anymore. But I’m sort of a pack rat and feel scared to throw anything out thinking that I just might need it in the future. But I agree that it’s necessary 🙂

  2. Becca, Becca, Becca.

    I need your weederly help. In every aspect of my life.

    The books I weed out every two months. Still they are spilled and piled.

    And the garden is desperate for you. I’ve weeded four times this summer but with all the rain, it’s a jungle out there.

  3. I think because I’m an Air Force brat, so I grew up moving, I tend to be a pretty ruthless weeder of possessions. That being said, since I began book blogging, my personal library has doubled in size! I’m sure once I need to move again, I’ll end up culling a whole lot of books.

  4. I try to forestall weeding by making good use of the library. When I look over my bookcase, there is often no rhyme or reason to what I’ve kept over the years. I’m just as likely to give away a great book because I want to share it and keep something that just represents a certain time in my life. Somewhere I still have a book of Anglo-Saxon poetry in the original and translated into English, because it was a favourite of mine in my first year of university.

  5. I actually like weeding in the garden, too- except for when it’s cold and my fingers get stiff. Weeding the book collection is much more painful. How nice that the books you donate to the library end up on their shelves- I know that all the public libraries around here simply put them in boxes for the next library sale.

Leave a Reply

