Thankful

Although my neighborhood is sparkling with the reds and greens of Christmas, I’m hanging on to the colors of harvest for just a few more days.  The rich red of cranberries and the warmth of harvest gold…the spicy hues of pumpkin and chestnut…the savory aroma of sage.

It somethimes seems that Thanksgiving is all but forgotten in the rush to Christmas.

But I will hold on to autumn and this small moment which requires nothing more of me than a smile and a prayer of gratitude.

May you find a special moment to have and hold as you celebrate a day of thankfulness.

May you find peace and kindness among friends.

May you find fulfillment of body, mind, and soul.

And may a wonderful stack of books await you at the end of all the reveling.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Becca. The American students in our University Department are having a celebration this evening and we’re all invited. I’m really looking forward to it.

  2. I love the autumn season, especially the fall leaves. It makes me sad to see the shops all putting up Christmas sales and decorations even before Thanksgiving has arrived!

  3. Such a beautiful post! I love this part especially: “But I will hold on to autumn and this small moment which requires nothing more of me than a smile and a prayer of gratitude.” I couldn’t agree with you more. Blessings on the rest of your weekend, and let’s stay away from the tinsel for awhile longer!

Leave a Reply

