Passing Through

I’ve been hopping about from friend to friend tonight, too weary to do more than peek in on you all…but many small delights awaited me at the homes of my favorite people, your words like a soft smile , a fragrant meal,  or a comforting arm around aching shoulders.  There has been so much work to do at my little office these weeks, where business is booming (yes, I’m glad of that) but hands are short and mine have been weasled and worked to the bone.  After a day of pouding away at keyboards, I long only for a soft chair, hot spicy tea, and a moment to close my eyes.  Hence my absence from this corner of the world…

I’ve missed you all and thought of you often, especially as I read ~ for read I always do, though there’s never enough time even in the best of days for all the reading I would like.  There has been comfort and wonder there, in words like this from Frederick Buechner’s Sacred Journey

Who can ever forsee the crazy how and when and where of a grace that wells up out of the lostness and pain of the world and of our own inner worlds?  And holy because these moments of grace ultimately come from farther away than Oz and deeper down than doom, holy because they heal and hallow.  ‘For all thy blessings, known and uknown, remembered and forgotten, we give thee thanks,’ runs an old prayer, and it is for the all but unknown ones and the more than half forgotten ones that we do well to look back over the journeys of our lives because it is their presence that makes the life of each of us a sacred journey.

As I travel on my sacred journey, I give thanks for the blessings of friends, those known and unknown save for the warmth of their words which ease and soothe my soul.

9 thoughts on “Passing Through

  1. I’m especially aware of these words you posted: “For all thy blessings, known and uknown, remembered and forgotten, we give thee thanks” during this time of year.

    I’m so glad that I was able to ‘meet’ you, late as it was, in 2009. I’m looking forward to more friendship in 2010.

    Merry Christmas, and many blessings on these hectic days,
    B.

  2. We give thanks to you, dear Becca.

    And I know how it is, how surprising this rush of end of year work seems, how we must be grateful for it, even as we are staggered by it.

    Find peace, if you can. Sit and be.

  3. What a sweet post and what a nice thing to read this morning 🙂

    My life has been a bit topsy-turvy lately but I’m trying to relax this holiday season and catch up with friends and reading. Now that’s a good thing!

  4. Becca,

    I found you through Linda — The Task at Hand.

    Frederick Buechner is a favorite of mine. When asked to offer an Advent lesson a couple of weeks ago, for a series called “Icons of Faith,” I chose to speak of Frederick Buechner and his influence on my life. As I worked on it, it worked on me. I hadn’t realize until I began working on the Advent lesson just how much Buechner had opened my eyes to the grace-washed world in which we live. The lesson prepared for others became my own lesson.

    The Sacred Journey was indeed wonder. Alphabet of Grace perhaps my favorite. And how to resist Wishful Thinking and its sisters?

    Yes, beautiful words soothe and invite us to wonder. I look forward to reading more of your life.

    Janell

  5. I’ve been wondering where you are, Becca, and if you are okay. I’m glad if you’re busy, wearying as it is. There is always good in productivity. Here’s to a better 2010!

Leave a Reply

