Striking Sentences

You might find sober people who don’t pray, but all the happy ones have some kind of regular meditation or spiritual practice.

I’ve never felt anything faintly mystical in my life, and tell her so.

Faith is not a feeling she says.  It’s a set of actions.  By taking the actions, you demonstrate more faith than somebody who actually has experienced the rewards of prayer and so feels hope.  Fake it till you make it.  ~ from Lit, a memoir by Mary Karr

Once upon a time, during a very sad and unhappy period in my life, a wise person told me to “pretend” I was happy and if I pretended long enough, it might come true.  Fake it till you make it.

It sounded facile to me at the time, but it worked out to be true.  My problems were nothing compared to the situation Mary Karr is in when her AA sponsor gives her this sage advice.  When Mary embarks upon a practice of prayer, even though at first she’s only faking it, the results are just suprising and effective enough to make her believe the power of it.

I’ve just closed the covers of this memoir, a book filled to the brim with striking sentences.  They continue to roil around in my mind… more cohesive thoughts may be forthcoming.

Now tell me, what sentences are striking you today?  If you’re blogging about them, let me know:

 

5 thoughts on “Striking Sentences

  1. I really want to read Lit. But, I do hope you don’t mind if I say that I’m not quite convinced that the faking it thing is a good idea. I know that my chronic fatigue stems in part from pretending for too long that everything was fine, that I could manage all that I did, that I felt fine (when I didn’t). I should have spoken out an awful lot sooner, told the truth and insisted on getting some help from family and friends. So – I’m sure it does work for lots of people in lots of situations, but it’s not an effective alternative to proper solutions based on saying honestly how you feel. I guess with all these things, you have to pick the right strategy at the right time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

