A Word on Major Pettigrew

Just had to say…if you read only one book this year (which of course I know won’t be true, but let’s just say you did…) make it this one.  I can’t recall meeting a more delightful curmudgeon than Major Pettigrew.  Watching him cope with modern life while trying to remain true to his British values is alternately hilarious and heartbreaking.  

I found myself laughing out loud at this passage, and believe me, I rarely laugh out loud at 7:45 in the morning!  The Major is having a conversation with his sister in law Marjorie, and her daughter Jemima, shortly after his brother’s sudden death, hoping to convince then to return a  family heirloom  (his father’s rare hunting guns).  Marjorie, however, is quite insistent the guns be sold to finance a cruise for herself and fancy pre-school for her obnoxious grandson. 

My father’s Churchill’s are not being put on the block at public auction like some bankrupt farm equipment,” said the Major firmly.  “The Pettigrew name will not be printed in a sale catalog.”

“What else do you suggest?” asked Marjorie.  The major suppressed a desire to suggest that they might consider removing themselves to hell.”

Ahh, Major.  A master of restraint, you are.

Postscript: Have just finished this wonderful book, and it never disappointed from the first minute.  Congratulations to Ms Simonson on such a heartwarming tale. I will miss sharing afternoon tea with the Major and Mrs. Ali, but am so pleased at their happy ending. <smiles>

12 thoughts on “A Word on Major Pettigrew

  1. I found your blog at the weekend and am glad that you reviewed this as it’s on my TBR list. It sounds like a lot of fun, so I shall definitely be looking out for a copy.

  2. Since I have just been informed by the library that Major Pettgrew is waiting to be collected, your blog entry is even more welcome than usual and I can look forward to a long business trip tomorrow in his company!

  3. Haha! That is funny! I’ve had this book for ages and it got shuffled down the list with reviews and work and whatnot. I can’t wait until I can get to it though. Thanks for posting!

  4. Just wanted to let you know that inspired by one of your other blog entries, I am now carrying a poem in my wallet. It’s a Mary Oliver, titled “Morning” since I so love mornings adn she nailed it in her poem. Thanks!

  5. This sounds like something I MUST read! I’d seen it around, but hadn’t actually added it to the wishlist until now. I’m in need of a book that will make me laugh at 7:45 am 😛

  6. I first saw mention of this one on a blog a few months (or a year?) ago — and it sounds delightful! Definitely adding it to my wishlist.

Leave a Reply

