The Reading Woman: Woman Reading in an Interior

A Lady in an Interior

Carl Holsoe (Danish, 1863-1935)

Oil on canvas, Private collection

Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are. ~Mason Cooley

A few weeks ago, my mother’s physician prescribed some physical therapy sessions for her.  Because my mother doesn’t drive, she relies on me to provide transportation for her, and, being the gentle, unselfish soul she is, she was reluctant to embark on a series of sessions that would take a couple of hours from my day.

“You’re so busy as it is,” she said, “I just don’t want you to be forced to sit there and waste time waiting for me.”

I smiled.  “Being ‘forced’ to sit somewhere is actually a blessing in disguise for me,” I told her.  “Believe me, having a good reason to sit and read for an hour twice a week is a gift, not a curse!”

I’m sure all you bookish lot will agree ~ whenever we “have to stay where we are,” reading gives us someplace to go and provides a perfect way to spend the time.

8 thoughts on “The Reading Woman: Woman Reading in an Interior

  1. This is so true! I was stuck at the airport last night waiting for my flight and it didn’t stress me out at all because I was just enjoying the extra reading time.

  2. Absolutely … couldn’t agree more. We had been taking my son to weekly therapy appointments over the summer and I loved this because it gave me an hour to sit and read in the middle of the day when I would have otherwise been working. Loved it!

  3. Absolutely! And in really envy the quiet and repose reflected in this painting. We may be stealing moments to read successfully, but I would bet that few of us enjoy the kind of peaceful quiet this woman appears to be enjoying. Our lives have become so loud.

  4. Lovely post, and you’re so right: being “forced” into waiting gives us an opportunity to slow down, pause and stay in the moment. I’m sure your mom so appreciates your help, too, and that makes it all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

