Thankful

 

Books are the treasured wealth of the world and the fit inheritance of generations and nations.

~Henry David Thoreau

It’s a busy day for many of you, cooking, visiting, traveling.  But it’s very quiet and peaceful here, chez Becca, almost as serene as the landscape in this picture of Walden Pond.

I’m thankful today for the love and support of my family and friends, the warmth and familiarity of my home, the sustenance and abundance of food that will shortly be on the table.

And of course I’m thankful for the treasured wealth of books, and the fact that I’ve been blessed with a great store of that wealth all my life.   I’m thankful have the freedom to read anything I want to read, and to have books from all nations and opinions available (for free!) in my public library system.   I’m thankful for writers, who spend their lives winnowing words into inspiration, entertainment,  and wisdom for generations to come.

It is a fit inheritance indeed.

~Happy Thanksgiving to all of you~


 

9 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Oh, lovely! Writers, books, libraries, you–I’m grateful for all of ’em. Thank you for expressing that so well. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful, and that you can savor every moment of your peaceful weekend!

  2. Lovely post. Hope your holiday was equally lovely. Mine was and is.
    And I’m thankful for writers, publishers, bookstores (especially independent ones) libraries (even though I don’t like my local one) and other bookbloggers who always give me ideas of new things to read.

Leave a Reply

