Waiting

Advent – the time of waiting, one week at a time, for the coming of the Messiah, the one who brings light into a world of darkness. At the risk of sounding sacreligious, there have been times in my life when books have illuminated my world in a way that nothing else could do.  An author’s turn of phrase or  perspective on life or death, a poet’s view of an emotional landscape, a favorite character’s reaction to a sudden change in circumstance – each at one time or another have helped me see things more clearly, have opened windows onto a new perspective. As the year draws to a close, some of those particularly illuminating reads from 2010 come to mind…

  • That Old Cape Magic ~ Richard Russo
  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand ~ Helen Simonson
  • The Help ~ Kathryn Stockett
  • Every Last One ~ Anna Quindlen
  • My Name is Mary Sutter ~ Robin Olivera
  • Let’s Take the Long Way Home ~Gail Caldwell
  • The Widower’s Tale ~ Julia Glass

How exciting to think about the new books being created as we speak, already working their way from a writer’s mind onto the page, soon to come into my hands and perhaps make a special place in my reader’s heart. I await them with great expectation.

4 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. I absolutely loved Every Last One by Anna Quindlen. It absolutely stunned me and stopped me in my tracks, and I still get a bit choked up when I think about it.

    I have a Richard Russo novel sitting on my shelf and I really need to read it — have you read Empire Falls?

  2. I have both the Richard Russo and the Kathryn Stockett to read – yay! Love best of year lists and it’s a lovely thought to imagine wonderful new books in their process of genesis!

Leave a Reply

