The Sunday Salon: Cleaning Up

The Sunday Salon.comThe sun is pouring in through the open window in my reading room.  I’ve got hot cocoa on the table, and piles of books everywhere.  The room is a mess right now, which is actually fitting, because it mirrors my reading life.  I’ve got too many book on my plate for the week ahead ~ a real plethora of riches in the bookish department.

Yesterday’s mail brought a copy of The Mapping of Love and Death, the seventh novel in the Maisie Dobbs mystery series by Jacqueline Winspear.  I’ve promised to review this one for TLC Book Tours in February, and I’m super excited to read it.  But herein lies the problem – I’ve just finished the second book in the series, and I’m one of those readers who simply abhors reading series books out of order.   I’d love to read the rest of the books first, and was able to grab them all at the library yesterday.  We’ll see how that works out.

Come Friday, I’ll be attending my first ever book club meeting.  Amazing, isn’t it?   I’ve been ravenously reading for over 50 years, and have never been to a book club?  The selection is Little Bee, which I’ve not read before, and was not able to get at any of my area libraries.  I had downloaded a free sample on the Nook, so I’ve got a bit of a head start, but decided to purchase it on the Nook in order to finish reading it by Friday.  I’ll be interested to see how an e-book works out for a book club.  I like being able to page through my books and find starred passages, and use sticky notes to mark places I want to return.  I’m still not too facile with the Nook, and it takes me a while to figure out how to navigate through the book electronically, during which time I usually manage to lose my place, or skip to the end, or some other such nonsense!  I have a feeling I’ll be wishing I had a “real” copy to thumb through during the discussion.

My ongoing reading about writing continues, and I’m still working through Bill Roorbach’s Writing Life Stories.  Following the mapping exercise I wrote about the other day, we’ve been tasked with creating a time line – a chart for any year of your life, separated into months, filling in the boxes with what you were doing that year.  I haven’t chosen which year to work on, there are so many, after all!

Added to all this is a new issue of The Sun magazine, and I love to savor every well-written word in this periodical.

It seems like I’ll be devoting some huge chunks of time to reading during the week ahead…I can’t think of a better thing to do during long winter days!

So tell me, is your reading life messy or nice and tidy this week?

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Cleaning Up

  1. I’m just finishing book eight in the Maisie Dobbs series, which comes out in April. I think they have got better as they’ve gone on and I do think you would do best to read them in order. There are so many spoilers in each succeeding book as to what has gone before, especially to do with the way in which Maisie’s character develops, that reading this far ahead could really spoil your enjoyment. However, all that in one go might sicken your appetite as well. A dilemma if ever I saw one.

  2. Ebooks definitely have a disadvantage in the thumbing through and sticky note department. I love the sun coming through. My reading is always messy not so much for the number of books as the number of other activities. And then there is that darn need for sleep. 😉

  3. My friend reads some of our book group picks on the Kindle and she is quite handy with the bookmark application and makes notes as well. I just depend on my handy composition book where I write whole passages and notes to flip through at book group.

    I am in two groups – one of which is much more literary than the other. The one is only concerned with plot so I have learned to lower my expectations for the discussion. Good luck with your group.

  4. I hope you have fun at your book club — you’ll tell us all about it, right? I’m thinking of joining my first book club too, but so far I’ve been too shy.

Leave a Reply

