The Sunday Salon -Spring Forward

Perhaps I wouldn’t mind “springing forward” if were actually spring.

But it is not, despite the flock of robins I spied at the park this morning standing most forlornly on a slab of ice, wondering why in the world they’d bothered to make the trip northward.   It’s the kind of cold, cloudy day that’s fit for nothing but lying in bed with a pile of books, a soft blanket, a cup of tea, and a warm puppy (or two) for companionship.

Alas, I cannot indulge in that pretty fantasy.  There is much to do today, as always, and losing an hour puts me in a very bad frame of mind.

If I were able to place myself inside that cozy image I just described, here’s what I’d be reading….

I’d be finishing up The Best of Times, a delicious blockbuster of a novel by Penny Vincenzi.  Billed as “page turning, commerical women’s fiction,” Vincenzi’s novels are always a good way to completely lose oneself in a good story, chock full of interesting characters facing real life  dilemmas.

I might also be dipping into Inventing the Truth, the Art and Craft of Memoir, a collection of essays edited by William Zinsser, in which well known authors the likes of Frank McCourt, Russell Baker, Annie Dillard and several others, discuss the “pleasures and problems” of writing a memoir.

If I felt like venturing out, I might tuck the March issue of The Sun magazine into my bag and head over to Panera Bread, order a mocha latte, and settle into one of the armchairs in front of their little gas fireplace to enjoy some of The Sun’s trademark fine fiction and poetry.

But instead I’m off to the market between loads of laundry, and will return to get a head start on the week’s office work, anticipating a busy week ahead, in which I must fit in a school concert along with an ever expanding work load.  Sad to say, there is not much of a spring in my step today.

How about you?

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon -Spring Forward

  1. We don’t put the clocks ahead for another fortnight, but I’m not looking forward to it any more than you. It always seems to take me at least a fortnight to catch up with myself. I think a good blockbuster that doesn’t really take much concentration but which engages you to the point where you forget time anyway is probably the only way to go.

  2. We sprung forward today, and I’m sitting here feeling disoriented by the quality of the light outside and the time of day it is. But that’s a good sign that summer is around the bend.

  3. Certainly glad the “mights” worked into the post before the reality of the day was revealed. A reality I know too well too. Wishing you the fantasy day in your not too distant future.

  4. We have some sunny weather here, but it’s still VERY chilly. I’m really sorry you didn’t get to carry out your plan for cloudy days, which sounds delightful. I’m headed into the last week of term, which is always unnecessarily busy because students leave everything to the last minute. I should be reading a half-written dissertation but instead I’m reading blogs – that should tell you all you need to know!

Leave a Reply

