Audio-Phile

Even though I just resigned from my job, and haven’t even finished packing up my desk, I’ve already started thinking about what I might like to do next. That was the whole point, you see – to have an opportunity to try something new, take up a challenge, spread my wings creatively. I get excited when I consider all the possibilities out there, all the things I’m interested in pursuing. Naturally, most of them have something or other to do with the arts -music and writing being at the top of the list. I’ve started to wonder about ways to fuse the two together, or find ways to branch out completely new artistic endeavor.

Although I’ve never considered acting, I have thought about voice production – as in radio or audio books.  I’ve always loved reading aloud, and wonder if I might possibly have the kind of voice talent required for audio production. Since I’ve been listening to more and more audiobooks lately, I’m even more inspired to think about this as a possibility.  The reader makes such a world of difference in the experience of listening to an audio book.  My husband, who is quite the audio-bibiliophile, searches the internet for books read by specific readers, rather than books by certain authors.  Now there’s an audio-phile groupie for you!

I have no illusions of that sort of grandeur – it might be a fun thing to do, though, now that I’ll have lots of time for exploring options.

Meanwhile, I’m going in search of the audiobook of  The Help…even though I’ve read the book, I head the audio version is marvelous, and uses an ensemble cast of readers to make it so.

If you listen to audiobooks, do you have a favorite reader?

6 thoughts on “Audio-Phile

  1. I’m always influenced by the reader and there are definitely actors whose recordings I seek out. Interestingly they are often those who have been classically trained and have a long background in stage work. Try anything by Anton Lesser, Juliet Stevenson, and either of the Wests, father, Timothy and son, Sam.

  2. I don’t have a favorite reader, though I do love stumbling into a wonderfully-read audiobook. I loved The Help on audio (haven’t read the print); the dialects, the voices, etc. all shone through so brightly. It was really captivating. I felt the same way about the narrator of Secret Life of Bees (though narrated by Karen White, not Jenna Lamia), and the narrators of The Swan Thieves. The audio production really made the stories for me, far more than just a flat reading. I just listened to How I Paid for College and liked the book but not the narrator so much – it makes for a completely different reading/listening experience.

    Ok, enough rambling…

  3. How very exciting to have some time and space for new creativity! It sounds wonderful. I do love audio books myself, and have really appreciated Anton Lester’s reading of C. S. Samson’s Shardlake mysteries. And I also love anything read by Simon Callow. Basically, anyone whose done lots of Shakespeare is usually reliably good!

  4. I’ve always thought this would be so much fun, too. One way to start is to read for the blind. I think if you find your local group that does this you can start as a volunteer.

  5. I discovered Simon Callow a few years ago when I listened to him narrate The Aeneid. I was under the impression that he looked like Sean Connery, but, in fact, although he is no action hero star, he is a wonderful actor. Your project sounds terrific!

Leave a Reply

