Audio-licious

Since I resigned from my job, I’ve started thinking about some things I might like to do next. That was the whole point, you see – to have an opportunity to try something new, take up a challenge, spread my wings creatively. I get excited when I consider all the possibilities out there, all the things I’m interested in pursuing. Naturally, most of them have something or other to do with the arts -music and writing being at the top of the list. I’ve started to wonder about ways to fuse the two together, or find ways to branch out completely new artistic endeavor.

Although I’ve never considered acting, I have thought about voice production – as in radio or audio books.  I’ve always loved reading aloud, and wonder if I might possibly have the kind of voice talent required for audio production. Since I’ve been listening to more and more audiobooks lately, I’m even more inspired to think about this as a possibility.  The reader makes such a world of difference in the experience of listening to an audio book.  My husband, who is quite the audio-bibiliophile, searches the internet for books read by specific readers, rather than books by certain authors.  Now there’s an audio-phile groupie for you!

I have no illusions of that sort of grandeur – it might be a fun thing to do, though, now that I’ll have lots of time for exploring options.

Meanwhile, I’m going in search of the audiobook of  The Help…even though I’ve read the book, I head the audio version is marvelous, and uses an ensemble cast of readers to make it so.

If you listen to audiobooks, do you have a favorite reader?

6 thoughts on “Audio-licious

  1. I love audiobooks, but I’m not a true audiophile like your husband. 🙂 Also, I don’t believe I am the traditional listener either. I do not like any sort of drama being expressed by the narrator. I like the words to do that, so I prefer the narrator to read them like they would read them in their own head. That is usually not dramatic like a teacher would read to students, which is totally appropriate. Of course, there’s a fine balance there because I don’t want it to be boring either. Tough job those readers have to impress me! 🙂

    As for particular narrators, I do not pursue any, but I do stay away from one. Her dramatized goofiness makes me crazy. And, not surprisingly so, many, many audio listeners love her. There are a few both male and female that I’m so happy to hear again when I happen upon them.

    Good luck to you in your search for a new and exciting career path! I hope you find what makes you happy. 🙂

  2. I have a friend who trained for this sort of thing with a voice coach. It seems like it would be so much fun. I’ve had a few of my books go audio and I was disappointed in the voices; they didn’t seem to carry the story well. Authors care, in the end, who reads their books aloud.

  3. I would love to hear also! I think Simon Callow is great and Jim Dale was so wonderful when he read Harry Potter — I wonder if he’s narrated books for adults?

  4. How exciting, Becca! It sounds like a wonderful idea – so do-able. I recorded half a book onto tape for my son…only he grew too old for the book while I was reading and even so I never finished! But I was being a slacker – if you set your mind to it. you could do it beautifully, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

