The Sunday Salon

The Sunday Salon.com

This Sunday finds me at our home in Florida with one of my dearest bookish friends. M. and I have made a tradition of annual trips here in the winter, but decided to indulge ourselves with a few days this fall, knowing that my availability this winter could be unpredictable because I expect my winter travels to include numerous trips to Dallas for visits with my new grandson.

Our trips here always include lots of reading. Time was, we’d each haul a suitcase of books down with us, and make at least one pilgrimage to the book store as well. Things have changed all round in the last couple of years. M. uses an electronic reader for all of her reading these days, which makes book sharing impossible (if anyone knows how to share books on the iPad, let me know asap!) Plus, our favorite Borders is shuttered and blank (but there’s always Barnes and Noble, and a new Books-A-Million has opened at the upscale shopping center down the road.)

So we’ve managed just fine.

I’ve yet to make the complete conversion to e-reading, and brought Joanna Smith Rakoff’s A Fortunate Age with me in hardcover. I finished it last night, and started The Swimming Pool, which I had downloaded onto my iPad before we left. I was reluctant – I don’t like reading on the iPad, but have to concede that’s it’s much more convenient for traveling.

After brunch this morning, I decided I couldn’t go home tomorrow without buying a book. It’s traditional, after all. So we stopped at Books-A-Million, where I picked up a copy of Cradle in the Grave, by Sophie Hannah, with the excuse that I can use it for an October book review post for All Things Girl.

Our plans for the afternoon are almost entirely book-related, as we continue reading and plan a trip to the movies to see The Help.

I hope your Sunday afternoon is just as pleasant.

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. Sounds like a great little get-a-way with your friend. Is that the new Sophie Hannah? A friend you can just spend time reading with is a very good friend, indeed.

  2. I hope you enjoy The Help movie…I saw it twice, which is an indicator of how much I loved it.

    I can’t wait to read the new Sophie Hannah book…I discovered her books a year or so ago, and have been reading them as fast as I can grab them.

    Have a great trip! I haven’t traveled since I got my Kindle, but I can see that it would offer more portable book travel.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  3. I enjoy reading on the Kobo, but after 7 months or so my love affair with it waned. I’m returning to paper books. Not entirely, the Kobo has its convenient place. But it’s no longer a favourite toy.

Leave a Reply

