Simply Reading: Rebecca

“Surely you’ve read that book before?” my husband asked regarding the paperback copy of Rebecca splayed open on the kitchen table. “That’s definitely an oldie.”

“But also most definitely a goodie,” I replied. “It’s been years and years since I first read it, and I’d forgotten just how good it really is.”

It’s more than good, it’s great. Β The writing is lush and poetic, yet tight and controlled. The suspense builds in a thousand different ways, with clues dropped hither and yon like petals off those damned rhododendrons that have overtaken the gardens in Manderley.

And the characters are so perfectly drawn you feel as if you’re inhabiting their very minds.

Re-reading Daphne Du Maurier’s classic tale of romantic suspense is a sobering reminder of what good writing is really all about.

I read it and weep for many reasons, not the least of which is knowing I’ll never come close to having this kind of writing skill. But I am definitely appreciating Du Maurier’s mastery of the craft. This story is keeping me awake long past my bedtime.

So, what’s keeping you awake tonight?

11 thoughts on “Simply Reading: Rebecca

  1. Oh I love Rebecca, too. But don’t fear for your own capacities – this is far and away du Maurier’s best novel, and she struggled with criticism and never having her work recognised as she wished it to be. She also wrote a few novels that were far from stellar. Just keep at it – all you need is to find the right story to tell and the right way to tell it. That’s a big ‘all’, of course, but you can do it. πŸ™‚

  2. This book has been on my TBR list for ages! I really want to read it yet at the same time I know it’s depressing and that worries me a little. But I think the time has come for me to read Rebecca as well. Your post makes me feel like I’d be missing out on a lot if I were to pass this book without reading it πŸ˜‰

    • I know I’ve read it before, but it’s all fresh to me. There is a great old movie version too.

      It is good to know that even the “greats” weren’t always so…

  3. Hi Becca!

    I’m slowly getting back into blogging, so I’m visiting all my old pals (on my blogroll) to see who is still out and about. Glad to see you’re still here! And writing about REBECCA too! I rarely re-read books, but REBECCA is an exception. One of my all time favorites!

    Cheers, Lisa

Leave a Reply

