The Sunday Salon – Milking It

For the past 30 minutes my new baby grandson has been dawdling over his dinner, sucking ferociously for a few seconds and then slowing down to savor the experience of this sweet substance in his mouth and the texture and shape of the nipple. He occasionally hums softly to himself, rolls his dark baby blue eyes, and then, with a deep sigh, takes a few more gulps.

He’s milking this meal for all it’s worth.

I’ve been doing that with my reading today, on a dreary afternoon here in suburban Dallas. Like Connor, I’m rather lethargic – I’ve been reading a page or two in Winter Garden, an emotionally spell-binding novel by Kristin Hannah, and then setting it down to close my eyes for a quick forty twenty winks.

But there’s more than laziness accounting for the milking of this novel. The novel contains a story within the story in which one the main characters recalls her experiences during the siege of Leningrad during WWII.  Hannah has done a fabulous job of recreating a horrific historic occurrence, so fabulous in fact, that there’s only so much I can bear to read at one sitting even though I’m panting to find out what’s going to happen next.

Additionally, at less than 100 pages from the end, I hate to finish it late on a Sunday night when I have no other books available. (I know, if I’d just learn to read in the eReader, I wouldn’t have this problem.) So I’m happy to eke every morsel out of these last few pages.

How about you? Do you ever “milk” your current read to make it last longer? 

The Sunday Salon.com

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon – Milking It

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. I’ll put it on my list. And no, I don’n milk books. I’m the kind of reader that will read faster and faster when the tense is build up.

  2. I have Winter GArden on my shelf, and I’m so glad to hear your affection for it. As to milking a novel, I think I need to slow down in my life, and enjoy each one. I tend to race through them and get to the next one, and that is foolishness. Thanks for the reminder. Also, I’m so glad to see that you’re going to partake in the Venice in February Challenge! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

