The Sunday Salon-In Which I Succumb to Year End List Mania

Although part of me is loath to clutter the airways with any more year end/best of/top ten/my favorite lists, I feel compelled to add my two cents worth to the mania, if only for my own posterity. Should this blog still exist one, two, or even five years from now, it’s rather nice to look back at what has risen to the top of the reading pile over that 365 day period.

So, without further ado and in no particular order (other than the order in which I read them):

 

Red Hook Road, Ayelet Waldman

Joy For Beginners, Erica Bauermeister

Pictures of You, Caroline Leavitt

The Bird Sisters, Rebecca Rasmussen

The Long Goodbye, Meghan O’Rourke

A Good Hard Look, Ann Napolitano

Say Her Name, Francisco Goldman

Maine, Courtney Sullivan

The Stuff That Never Happened, Maddie Dawson

State of Wonder, Ann Patchett

You Are My Only, Beth Kephart

Belong to Me, Marisa de los Santos

Remarkable Creatures, Tracy Chevalier

I’m sure you noticed right off, as I did when I was writing out the list, that every one of these books (save one) was written by a woman.

Now before you denounce me as a sexist, please know I didn’t plan it that way. It  must have been a year when I needed the reassuring voice of my “sisters” to get me through. I vow to make a conscious effort to read more male authors next year. In fact, I’m already on it, as I’m mired deeply in Stephen King’s blockbuster of  a book, 11/22/63. And it’s very likely to make my favorites list for the year 2012.

There you have it -my favorite books of 2011.

‘Nuff said.

What are you reading this Sunday, the first day of 2012? Will it make your “best of” list for the year?

The Sunday Salon.com

14 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon-In Which I Succumb to Year End List Mania

  1. I love reading end of year favourites lists! Of yours I have read Belong to Me which I loved and You are my Only which I liked but didn’t love! Several others are on my list to get to this year!

  2. I threw me year-end list into the fray today too but had the same reservations about how many were already out there! I actually haven’t read any of the books on your list but Maine and Red Hook Road are both on my list to be read.

    • I enjoyed both those novels a lot, so hope you get a chance to read them. It’s hard to keep up with all the “best of…” listings, but I often get some good recommendations from them.

  3. I had a very woman-oriented best-of list this year, too! It’s just the way the cookie crumbles. Delighted to read yours, Becca, as there will undoubtedly be several books on it I will love (and there are lots I know about only through visiting you here).

  4. Not having had the will or energy to draw up a list I am very impressed by yours, especially because it has so many women writers. Great. There are a number I have not read and I must admit also some authors I had never heard of before. Just shows how many books there are out there! Wishing you a very happy new reading year.

Leave a Reply

