The Sunday Salon: Reading in “The D”

The Sunday Salon.com

“D” as in Dallas, that is, where we’ve having a wonderful time visiting with our son, daughter in law, and grandson Connor (or Mr. C as we’ve taken to calling him). Although only three months old, Mr. C will sit quietly on my lap and listen to an entire chapter of Winnie the Pooh, staring wide-eyed at  the color illustrations on my iPad. He especially likes it when I swipe the screen and another page appears – you can hear his excited little gasp of pleasure and see his tiny fingers twitch in anticipation of one day swiping that screen himself.

Forgive me if I sound too much like a doting Grandma, for of course I’m convinced that there is no more handsome or intelligent child on the planet than our Mr. C. Naturally we’ve already started setting money aside for his college days, hoping to offset the necessity for graduate student loans (or maybe med school loans??)

I’ve managed to get some of my own reading in, too. I’ve been engrossed in Duty to the Dead, the first in a series by author Charles Todd about Bess Crawford, a WWI nurse who finds herself solving mysteries in between her nursing duties. Book Club Girl is hosting a readalong of this series, and for all you Downton Abbey fans who are pining to return to England in the early 1900’s, here’s an opportunity. I’m enjoying this one immensely, and have grown quite fond of Bess already. I took advantage of a special offer on the e-version of the book, and downloaded it onto my Sony reader for $1.99.

Speaking of e-readers, I’m very happy that I decided to reinstate using my Sony reader. I find I much prefer the one-function use of this older model. The distractions of the internet on the Nook and iPad were simply overwhelming, and really detracted from the reading experience for me. The only thing I can do with the Sony reader is READ – just like with a real book.

And that’s just fine with me.

Now back to reading in “The D.”

What (and where) are you reading on this Sunday?

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Reading in “The D”

  1. I completely understand, I tend to think the my boys are the most fantastic and cutest ever. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll feel that way about grandkids someday too.

  2. Mr. C sounds adorable! I have been reading the second book of the Hunger Games trilogy (now finished), Eating Animals by Jonathon Safrom Foer, and Wild Swans by Jung Chang, all at home here in Taiwan 🙂 I understand what you mean about the distractions of the iPad, as I read ebooks on there but I find if I just turn off the wifi connection the problem is sufficiently solved for me and if I’m on the bus out of range of any wifi, it’s not an issue at all.

    Enjoy your time with your family!

Leave a Reply

