The Monday Salon – Kindle Singles and Shopping for a Cause

With apologies for my tardiness at the Salon this week, but Sunday was appropriated by outstanding presence of the actual SUN. It was a day of uncommon perfection  climatically speaking and I spent my normal Sunday afternoon writing time outdoors. After all, how often does one get an opportunity to sit in shirtsleeves, basking in warm sunshine in the early days of March?

It’s a rare gift for us midwesterners.

But since it’s raining buckets today, I’ve come inside to share with you some of the interesting things I read and learned last week.

First up, thanks to a mention by my friend Beth Kephart, I downloaded a Kindle “single” by Ann Patchett. If you’re not familiar with this genre, it’s a new series of mini e-books, designed to be read in one sitting. Most of them cost between .99 and 2.99, so it’s easy to grab up a handful.

Many well known authors are jumping on this bandwagon, and I have to say I do like the idea. The Patchett entry is entitled The Getaway Car: A Practical Memoir About Writing and Life.  Patchett talks about her process, about what she’s learned about the writer’s life, about how she got from there (a young woman with an active imagination)  to here (a bestselling author). This short format – an elongated essay of about 10,000 words – requires the author to think and plan carefully in order to say what needs to be said.

Which Patchett did, and did it admirably. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in this writer, or the writing life in general.

From my inbox last week came news of a very interesting website for readers. Called Gone Reading, the site purveys reading paraphenalia (t-shirts, journals, reading lights, etc.). The interesting thing is that 100% of the company’s after-tax profits is used to provide funding to libraries and reading centered non-profit organizations.  “We believe that when people have open access to great reading materials, life always changes for the better,” says Gone Reading’s founder Brad Wirz.  “When libraries and reading materials are made available, people and their communities thrive through increased opportunity and self-empowerment.”

I couldn’t agree more, and that’s why I’m happy to promote this worthy endeavor. I hope you’ll check out the site, maybe even get the cute t-shirt I just ordered for myself. Plus, you can use the code BOOKSTACK25 at checkout, and you’ll receive a 25% discount on your purchase! How about that!

And with that news, I’ll wrap up this Sunday Salon on Monday afternoon.

It’s time to Go Reading.

2 thoughts on “The Monday Salon – Kindle Singles and Shopping for a Cause

  1. I just read an article about Byliner, a site devoted to the sale of long non-fiction journalism and short stories and it’s doing very well with short stories by, for example, Margaret Atwood and Amy Tan.

Leave a Reply

