The Sunday Salon- An Uncommon Education

It’s like this, Naomi…it can be dangerous to look forward too much, to think always of what should be instead of accepting what is.

from An Uncommon Education, by Elizabeth Percer

My mother has been ill recently, necessitating a couple of trips to the hospital emergency room. On the second occasion, the wait was extremely long and hospital personnel were not overly helpful. Their attitude, fueled by my own anxiety and sense of powerlessness in the wake of my mother’s pain, led me to speak rudely – something I very rarely do.

As I thought about it, I realized my frustration and ultimate loss of manners was a projection of what I call my inner child spoiled brat. I’ve led something of a charmed life, really, a treasured only child whose parents and grandparents moved heaven and earth to make her happy. Although I’m long past childhood, there is undoubtedly a small part of me that expects the world to offer me the same service.

In An Uncommon Education young Naomi Feinstein (also a treasured only child) is learning a somewhat different lesson from her father, who instructs her through his love of history and mythology and culture. One of his big lessons (as evidenced by the quote above) is to accept what IS and not anguish over unfulfilled expectations.

A good lesson to learn from a new book on this rainy Sunday morning.

Something else I’d like to learn more about is creating websites. Having a web designer/graphic artist in the family has spoiled me in terms of doing my own design or setting up my own hosting. It’s always been so easy to turn it over to my son. But now that he has a new baby in the house, I’m reluctant to add any more items to his to-do list. So I’m hoping to find some other alternatives. I’m sure books will come in handy in this process of self-education as well.

Now tell me, what is your reading teaching you on this Sunday?

3 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon- An Uncommon Education

  1. I think you’re being too hard on yourself. A mother in pain, a long wait in casualty and unsympathetic staff is a clear formula for extreme frustration. I don’t expect I could have held my tongue either. And sometimes, you know, a little screaming is necessary to get the care your loved ones need. I’m just sorry you had to go through such a horrid experience.

Leave a Reply

