TLC Book Tours: Don’t Sing at the Table, Life Lessons From My Grandmothers

My grandparents lived with us when I was growing up, and my Great-Grandmother lived just across the street. Having such a strong female presence in my life was a blessing, and I believe their constant and unconditional love helped me become a better parent. As I prepare to become a grandmother for the first time, I’m recalling those lessons every day, hoping I can be as loving and supportive as they were.

Because of my close relationship with my grandmothers, I was pre-disposed to love Adriana Trigiani’s memoir, Don’t Sing at the Table.  After all, with a subtitle like Life Lessons From My Grandmothers, how could it not appeal to me? Hadn’t I spent my formative years at my Grandmother’s feet?


Not surprisingly, I did love the book.  Trigiani takes us on a backstage tour of her grandmother’s lives – their successes, their hardships, their quirky personalities.  As I read about their early days as young women fulfilling an American dream and running their own business to their later years still enjoying life, Lucia Spada and Viola Trigiani began to feel like members of my own family. The experience resembled sitting down at the table with hot coffee and Viola’s famous Sponge Cake, soaking up the stories, advice, and love poured out so generously in this little book.

The book is memoir, but also something of a “how-to” live life according to these two wise women, lessons Trigiani herself has incorporated into her own being and is eager to pass along. In recalling the lessons her grandmothers have taught, Trigiani discovers sound wisdom for the many challenges facing modern women at work and at home. Advice on everything from how to dress and entertain, to how to raise children and handle the family finances is included. It’s comforting to realize that life lessons from a simpler time can be just as appropriate in this crazy modern world we live in today.

Don’t Sing at the Table was a charming, delightful look at the lives of two extraordinary women, who, by their example, left their granddaughter with a wonderful legacy of love and wisdom.  I have a feeling they would be very proud grandmothers!

Visit Adriana Trigiani’s website, Facebook Page, Twitter

Thanks to TLC Book Tours for the opportunity to read this lovely book!

8 thoughts on “TLC Book Tours: Don’t Sing at the Table, Life Lessons From My Grandmothers

    • I have read several of her novels, but I think I’ve missed a few. I’ve also enjoyed listening to one or two on audio book. They are great “comfort reads.”

  1. I read recently that Homo Sapiens had a longer lifespan than Neanderthals. It’s now thought that having grandparents gave our ancestors a leg up and the lack thereof may be a sig’t reason Neanderthals went extinct.

  2. How wonderful that you had such close relationships with your grandmother and great-grandmother when you were a child! My mom had similar experiences growing up in New York surrounded by her extended family, and she often talks fondly of it.

    I’m thrilled the you loved this book – it does seem just perfect for you! Thanks for being a part of the tour.

  3. I’d like to read this. I do like most of Trigiani’s novels although I remember reading one – can’t remember the title – that was a bit fluffy. Big Stone Gap and Lucia Lucia were very enjoyable, though.

Leave a comment