Getting Re-Acquainted with an “Old Friend”

Back in the mid 1980’s when I was deep in the throes of motherhood, I looked forward to reading Anna Quindlen’s wonderful column “Life in the Thirties.” It was syndicated in our Detroit Free Press, back in the day when my morning newspaper was just as much life’s blood as my morning coffee. Anna seemed to get me in ways that none of my real friends did – she knew about that tug to create, that urge to lose yourself in books and words, and how it was sometimes difficult to maintain the balance between caring for the ones you loved and caring for yourself.

This summer I’m happy to have gotten re-acquainted with the Anna I once knew via her new book Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake. I’m over at All Things Girl talking about it.

Grab a cup of coffee and join in the conversation – Anna and I would love to have you.

2 thoughts on “Getting Re-Acquainted with an “Old Friend”

Leave a comment